Social Post → Waiting on Wednesday

waiting on wednesday

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by breaking the spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

certain dark thingsCertain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Publication Date: October 25, 2016
Genre: Adult Urban Fantasy, Mystery/Thriller

Welcome to Mexico City… An Oasis In A Sea Of Vampires…

Domingo, a lonely garbage-collecting street kid, is busy seeking out a living when a jaded vampire on the run swoops into his life.

Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers, must feast on the young to survive and Domingo looks especially tasty. Smart, beautiful, and dangerous, Atl needs to escape to South America, far from the rival narco-vampire clan pursuing her. Domingo is smitten.

Her plan doesn’t include developing any real attachment to Domingo. Hell, the only living creature she loves is her trusty Doberman. Little by little, Atl finds herself warming up to the scrappy young man and his effervescent charm.

And then there’s Ana, a cop who suddenly finds herself following a trail of corpses and winds up smack in the middle of vampire gang rivalries.

Vampires, humans, cops, and gangsters collide in the dark streets of Mexico City. Do Atl and Domingo even stand a chance of making it out alive?


Why I’m waiting for this one? I recently got approved for this on Netgalley but I’ve seen absolutely NO ONE talking about it and it sounds AMAZING so I wanted to feature it. I’m really excited for it and I am planning on reading it SOOOOOOON. Okay so here is a list of reasons why I am excited for it.

1. It’s a diverse book.
2. It takes place in Mexico.
3. It’s written by a Mexican author.
4. VAMPIRES.
5. Vampire gangs, what? I’m totally on board. Let’s go.
6. Look at that cover it’s gorgeous. *heart eyes*
7. Did I mention it’s a diverse book by a WOC?

Here is the link go request it.

6 thoughts on “Social Post → Waiting on Wednesday

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      Honestly, I haven’t read any lately either, well not urban fantasy ones. I’ve read some paranormal fantasy ones but those were more on the light cheesy fun side, not the serious side of things like this one seems to be. I am really excited and looking forward to it! Thank you for commenting!

      Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      That combination is what had me requesting it on Netgalley! I’ve been on a bit of eARC ban, I’ve been reading a lot of backlist titles, but I just could not resist this one. It had all of the things that I love in ONE book. I am really excited for it. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      YES gritty vampires are more my type as well. I found an image a long time ago that said something like ‘Remember when vampires were more like Batman than Fairies’ and I was just like ‘YESSSSS!!!!’. Christopher Pike was my first introduction to vampires and I was like 9 or 10, maybe a little older, and his were not nice vampires. THanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

