Book Review → Wickedly Dangerous

reviewbannerwickedlydangerousdb

wickedly dangerousTitle: Wickedly Dangerous
Author: Deborah Blake
Series: Baba Yaga
Publication Date: September 2, 2014

Synopsis: Older than she looks and powerful beyond measure, Barbara Yager no longer has much in common with the mortal life she left behind long ago. Posing as a herbalist and researcher, she travels the country with her faithful (mostly) dragon-turned-dog in an enchanted Airstream, fulfilling her duties as a Baba Yaga and avoiding any possibility of human attachment.

But when she is summoned to find a missing child, Barbara suddenly finds herself caught up in a web of deceit and an unexpected attraction to the charming but frustrating Sheriff Liam McClellan.

Now, as Barbara fights both human enemies and Otherworld creatures to save the lives of three innocent children, she discovers that her most difficult battle may be with her own heart.

Review: I always love finding urban fantasy that have nothing to do with vampires and werewolves. As much as I love both, and trust me I do they’re my favorites, it is so refreshing to read something else. This series deals with Baba Yaga and the fae, I am a sucker for anything with the fae in it, but Baba Yaga is really what drew me to this story. I don’t know much about the legends of Baba Yaga, I’ve heard vague things, so it intrigued me that an author used them in an urban fantasy. I really loved and enjoyed reading this book, I really hated to put it down, sleep is such a pesky thing. Baba aka Barbara in this book was amazing, I loved her ‘dog’, and the three riders that are sometimes her companions. This was the first book I’ve ever read by Deborah Blake and I definitely can’t wait to read the other two books in this series and meet the other Babas.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: YES

Leave a Reply

