Book Review → River Marked

reviewbannerrivermarkedpb

river markedTitle: River Marked
Author: Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2011

Synopsis: Coyote shifter Mercy Thompson knows that life with her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will never be boring, but even their wedding doesn’t go as planned. Nevertheless, a ten-day honeymoon camping on the banks of the Columbia River, alone, just the two of them, should make up for it. But the trip – and the pimped-out trailer they’re using – is courtesy of the fae. And nothing from the fae comes without strings attached…

Being a different breed of shapeshifter – a walker – Mercy can see ghosts, but the spirit of her long-gone father has never visited her. Until now. An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River – and innocent people are dying. As other walkers make their presence known to Mercy, she must reconnect with her heritage to exorcise the world of the legend known as the river devil…

Review: This is one of my favorite books in this series. Adam and Mercy get married and go on their honeymoon to the Columbia River. If you’ve read any of my previous reviews for this series you know I’m a HUGE Adam/Mercy shipper so I totally love that they got married. ? But one of the biggest reasons I love this one is we learn about Mercy’s heritage, we find out who her father is, and we finally learn about walkers and we meet more of them. I don’t know much about Native Americans or their culture, history, or rituals so I can’t say if Briggs was accurate in her portrayal of that but I can say that I did enjoy learning more about Mercy and her background. And it has piqued my interest in learning more about Native Americans. I am really excited to read Frost Burned, though since I’m reading them in the Mercy Thompson World order, not just the Mercy books, Fair Game is up next. So back to Charles and Anna I go. 🙂

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Definitely!

Leave a Reply

