Book Review → Hooked

12369649Title: Hooked
Author: Liz Fichera
Series: Hooked
Publication Date: January 29th, 2013

Synopsis: When Native American Fredricka ‘Fred’ Oday is invited to become the only girl on the school’s golf team, she can’t say no. This is an opportunity to shine, win a scholarship and go to university, something no one in her family has done.

But Fred’s presence on the team isn’t exactly welcome — especially not to rich golden boy Ryan Berenger, whose best friend was kicked off the team to make a spot for Fred.

But there’s no denying that things are happening between the girl with the killer swing and the boy with the killer smile.

Review: This book took me quite a long time to read. I made it about half way to two-thirds of the way through it when I had to put it aside. I got to right after Fred and Ryan had made out in his truck. And because of that she thought that meant they were a couple, then she saw him kissing his girlfriend/ex/whatever she was, and got really upset about it. And I just had to put the book down. I had really enjoyed Fred up until that point but the whole ‘Omg we kissed/made out so now we’re a couple’ thing was really off-putting for me.

Well I finally picked up the book again and was able to finish it. I think putting the book down and sitting on it for a while was the best thing that I could have done, I was less annoyed with Fred, and I had to remind myself that when I was her age, the thing that bothered me about her was something that happened a lot with girls. Overall, Fred’s a good character, she’s inspirational to girls on her Reservation, and on others. I really liked that the main character was Native American, it is one thing that drew me to this series. (I received an ARC of the second book and I wanted to read this one first.) I didn’t really care for Ryan, he was the typical popular mean boy, and I didn’t really find him to be all the redeeming in the end. I think he started to redeem himself, but for me, he has a long way to go. He treated Fred like crap and like she was his dirty secret for far too much of the book for me to suddenly forgive him in the last twenty or so pages of the book.

Once I got past the small issue I had, and even before that, I really enjoyed this book. It is a pretty good contemporary YA book. Definitely worth checking out.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Sure

Leave a Reply

