Movie Review → The Best of Me

the best of me Title: The Best of Me
Director: Michael Hoffman
Cast: James Marsden, Michelle Monaghan, Liana Liberato, Luke Bracey, Gerald McRaney
Release Date: October 17th, 2014

Synopsis: Amanda (Michelle Monaghan) and Dawson (James Marsden) were once high-school sweethearts. They have a bittersweet reunion when they return to their hometown for the funeral of a mutual, beloved friend. Seeing each other again after 20 years apart reignites the love they’ve never forgotten, but Amanda and Dawson soon discover that the forces that drove them apart when they were younger pose even more threats today. Based on the novel by Nicholas Sparks.

Review: For a man who says he doesn’t write romance this is about as romantic as you can get. Sure it’s a dramatic romance, but still it’s a romance. Sparks get over it, you write romances.

As for the movie itself, I really enjoyed it. I first watched it through with the original ending, which sucks by the way, and is heartbreaking and made me want to throw something at the TV. Then a week or so later I re-watched it with the ‘tearjoy’ alternate ending and it’s a much happier ending. I’m not sure which I prefer, they’re both good, but I think something in between might have been good. Before this movie I’d never gotten the appeal of James Marsden, I watched him during his X-Men days and back then, I just wasn’t attracted to him. But this older, salt and peppered James Marsden, is very, very attractive.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes if you’re a dramatic romance fan go for it

Leave a Reply

