Book Review → The Boss

the bossTitle: The Boss
Author: Abigail Barnette
Series: The Boss
Publication Date: August 19th, 2013

Synopsis: Sophie Scaife almost ran away once, trading her ticket to college for a ticket to Tokyo. But a delayed flight and a hot one-night stand with a stranger changed her mind, putting her firmly on track to a coveted position at a New York fashion magazine.

When the irresistible stranger from that one incredible night turns out to be her new boss – billionaire and publishing magnate Neil Elwood – Sophie can’t resist the chance to rekindle the spark between them… and the opportunity to explore her submissive side with the most Dominant man she’s ever known.

Neil is the only man who has ever understood Sophie’s need to submit in the bedroom, and the only man who has ever satisfied those desires. When their scorching, no-strings-attached sexual relationship becomes something more, Sophie must choose between her career and heart… or risk losing them both.

Review: I have been staying away from contemporary romance/erotica because I ran into a patch of them that were bothering me. They were full of tropes I can’t stand like love at first sight, badly written BDSM, tragic back stories, women angsting to the point of starving when the relationship turns sour, the ‘I can’t live without him so I’m going to walk around like a zombie’ one. I am sure there are more but those are the big ones that bug me the most, and a lot of the books I had been reading give you 3 or 4 of those tropes in one book. The worst is the “I have a tragic back story so I can’t love you”, way too many authors use that in EVERY single one of their books. It’s TOO much, you need variety, I don’t want basically the same story with different characters. Variety is the spice of life. So now that I’ve given you my pet peeves of the genre let me tell you why The Boss hit none of them and is everything perfect and why I love it.

This book though (yes that little rant had a point) didn’t have ANY of those. Both Sophie and Neil have back stories, they have bad things in them, but not to the point of ‘I can’t love you because of some horrible thing in my past’. HALLELUIAH. AMEN. FINALLY an author who doesn’t do that. (Way too many do that.) I absolutely loved Sophie and Neil, they’re both really complex, and well-developed characters, some of the best I’ve read in this genre actually. One of the great things is that for the most part they are really good at communicating with each other, there are times that they aren’t and things happen that do have an impact on their relationship. But they learn to work through their problems together and how to better communicate with each other.

Neil and Sophie have their ups and downs but it never gets to the point where Sophie mopes around, doesn’t eat, and acts like she’s just going through the motions. Sure it affects her, she still feels it, you can tell that but she’s still able to be a functioning human being.

One thing that I really loved, while this is a romance/erotica, this book deals with relationships outside of Sophie and Neil. It shows that you can still have a life despite having a romantic relationship with someone. It always drives me crazy when books show people blowing off or ignoring their friends and family when they get in new relationships. So it was nice to not see that happen in this one.

The Boss really highlighted a big problem that I have in a lot of other romance/erotica books I have been reading: the huge lack of FUN that the couple has. The books always seem to have a lot of sex then this huge ‘I can’t love you even though I love you’ drama/sadness before some incident that finally brings them together. But there is never really any fun non-sex events in the book. No just hanging out as friends, getting to know each other, spending time together, and I really couldn’t put my finger on what was missing in those books until I read this one. It was glaringly obvious after that.

I really can’t say enough good things about this book. There really wasn’t anything I didn’t like. The sex scenes were HOT, they didn’t overpower the book, and there were plenty of non-sex scenes in the book. Basically it’s just one of the best books in this genre I have ever read.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Definitely!

One thought on “Book Review → The Boss

Leave a Reply

