Movie Review → Guardians of the Galaxy

guardians of the galaxy Title: Guardian’s of the Galaxy
Director: James Gunn
Cast: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Bradly Cooper, Vin Diesel, Dave Bautista, Karen Gillan, Lee Pace, Michael Rooker
Publication Date: August 01st, 2014

Synopsis: Brash space adventurer Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) finds himself the quarry of relentless bounty hunters after he steals an orb coveted by Ronan, a powerful villain. To evade Ronan, Quill is forced into an uneasy truce with four disparate misfits: gun-toting Rocket Raccoon, treelike-humanoid Groot, enigmatic Gamora, and vengeance-driven Drax the Destroyer. But when he discovers the orb’s true power and the cosmic threat it poses, Quill must rally his ragtag group to save the universe.

Review: I’ve been very vocal on my dislike of the Marvel franchise and had no plans on seeing this movie. My mom grabbed it for my from the library because she knows I normally like this sort of thing so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was soooooo bored. I seriously had to restart this movie three times because I kept picking up my laptop, or iPad, or iPod to do something else and would stop paying attention. I literally had to go sit on my bed with none of my electronic devices around me to watch this movie. It took until the last 30 minutes or so to really start to enjoy things but it wasn’t enough for me to even consider watching the next movie. I really don’t think Chris Pratt was the right guy to head up this movie, he’s not funny at all, and I’m assuming this one was supposed to be more on the humorous side. I did get excited when Lee Pace’s name scrolled across the screen, he was literally the ONLY good thing about this movie. No I take that back, the dancing baby Groot at the end was good too, but I literally have seen a million gifs of that floating around tumblr, I didn’t need a movie for it. I really expected MORE from this movie with all the hype behind it. It really fell flat for me. Marvel’s refusal to diversify is really killing them for me. Seriously.

Stars: ★★
Recommendation: I say skip it, go watch some DC movies instead

Leave a Reply

