Book Review → Iron Kissed

iron kissedTitle: Iron Kissed
Author: Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2008

Synopsis: Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape – but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it’s up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy’s loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can’t decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her.

This review will contain a small spoiler but it’s to avoid anyone triggered.

Review: Firstly, there is a small, and I mean small, it’s about a paragraph, rape scene. The character is drugged with a fairy drink that makes her believe what her assailant says, and while she is able to fight off the effects of the drink, he constantly makes her drink it. As someone who is personally bothered by many rape scenes this one personally didn’t bother me, I think Briggs handled it very well, she never went into a lot of detail and she handles the aftermath of the rape with great care. She doesn’t brush it aside, Mercy has to work through the tragedy and overcome it, and come to grips with what happened to her and that it wasn’t her fault.

As for the rest of this book, this has never been one of my favorite one in the series. But I still really enjoy it every time I read it. I almost finished it in one sitting but it was 6am and I needed to go to sleep so I picked it up the next day. This books deals more with the fae and we get to learn more about them. This book also shows Mercy’s relationship with Adam and his pack getting stronger.

I did pick up an important piece of information that I seemed to have missed the other two times I have read this and I don’t know how I did. But … MERCY THOMPSON AND I SHARE A BIRTHDAY. SO HAPPY BIRTHDAY MERCY!! (November 20th) We find this out from the codes Adam tells her to enter and when, and at the end of the book the code she tells Tim to enter is one one two zero, which is her birthday, and the code to alert Adam.

Seriously if you have not read this series you need to. It’s amazing. It mostly deals with werewolves, but there are vampires and fae as well. And eventually we will learn more about Mercy and her Native American heritage.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: YES!!!

Leave a Reply

