Book Review → The Assassin’s Blade

theassassinsbladeTitle: The Assassin’s Blade
Author: Sarah J Maas
Series: Throne of Glass
Publication Date: March 4th, 2014

Synopsis: Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Review: Originally I planned to review each novella separately since they’re split up, but to me the way they flowed and picked up the last one’s story they felt more like a novel. They follow a chronological order, they could be read separately, but to me they’re best read in order as they do spoil each other for things. They each tell important parts of Celaena’s part the year right before Throne of Glass. The Assassin and the Desert was probably my favorite. I loved the mute Assassins and would have loved more with them. I would love an entire book about them. I also loved The Assassin and the Healer, we saw a softer side of Celaena.

I do suggest reading these before Throne of Glass as ToG has spoilers for the novellas. I originally read the first three books in the series first, then decided to do a re-read before Queen of Shadows came out and decided to start with this one. I don’t feel like I missed out on anything, even though I knew a big thing that was going to happen in the novellas. But it did make me apprehensive in reading them before now, I’ve had the book for at least a year now.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Definitely!

2 thoughts on “Book Review → The Assassin’s Blade

Leave a Reply

