Unpopular Opinions Book Tag → Halloween Edition

booktag

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag
Halloween Edition

Sanovia at Creatyve Books did this tag a few weeks ago and I thought it was cool to make it a Halloween inspired one. I’m not sure who originally did it, but it’s definitely not mine, if anyone knows who this originated from let me know and I’ll glad credit them in the post. If you do this as well feel free to link me so I can check out yours!

Popular Book or Series That You Didn’t Like
uohalloween1

I think pretty much everyone I’m friends with on twitter and goodreads LOVED this book and I just couldn’t finish it. Dragon is an ASSHOLE and 10% into the book it started hinting at a potential relationship between him and the girl and I was like NOPE I’M OUTTA HERE. He literally kidnapped her, is abusive, mean, and neglectful of her, and you are going to make them ‘fall in love’? STOCKHOLM SYNDROME MUCH?

Popular Book or Series Everyone Else Seems to Hate But You Love
uohalloween2

Okay, so not everyone hates this, in fact a lot of people love it. But a lot of people I am friends with don’t like it at all. But I really loved it. I did have an issue with it, which I will address when I get around to re-reading it and reviewing it.

OTP You Don’t Like
uohalloween3

Celaena/Chaol; This is a big effing nope for me. Get this outta my face. lol

Popular Book Genre You Hardly Reach For

uohalloween4auohalloween4b

YA Paranormal Romance; I just can’t stand the 100+ year old vampire falling in love with a teen girl, or the super broody angel trope falling for the super special snowflake teen girl, etc. I read adult paranormal romance because they tend to focus a bit more on plot than being romance with supernatural creatures, which is often the feel I get from YA PNR.

Popular or Beloved Character You Do Not Like
uohalloween5

Chaol Westfall; I have not liked him since he first appeared in this book, he does not improve throughout the series for me.

Popular Author You Can’t Seem to Get Into
uohalloween6

I read the first three books in this series with my bff and I wasn’t that impressed with them. She had a good idea but her execution was lacking. And omg Cassie, GET OUT OF THIS WORLD, CREATE SOMETHING NEW ALREADY.

Popular Book Trope You’re Tired of Seeing
uohalloween7

Wimpy/Watered down Vampires; I have been into vampires since I was 10 years old. I’m in my early 30’s now so that’s a long time. And omfg, I am so tired of this ~nice vampire trope that has appeared since Twilight. Stop it. Vampires are bloodsucking, bump in the night, I’m-going-to-drain-you dry creatures.

Popular Series You Have No Interest in Reading
uohalloween8

My bff read this series and liked it so I was planning to read it. But after reading a lot of the asinine things that the author has said on twitter it really has turned me off from them.

Movie or TV Show Adaptation You Prefer More Than the Book
uohalloween9

Okay this movie was not that great, and it crashed and burned in the box office, but it was so much better than the book imo. And seriously the saving grace of this movie was Jemima West.

Tagging:
• Bekka
• Kaitlin
• Carrie
• Anyone else who likes these things

11 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag → Halloween Edition

  1. Kristina Van Hoose says:

    I love this idea. It is always fun to see the differing views people have on books. Thankfully there are many options out there for everyone.

    I’m tempted to try this myself, but I don’t think I could come up with an example for each category.

    Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      I wasn’t sure who had or hadn’t, since I’ve been sick I’ve not been around much. I’ll have to go check out your post. And omg it’s so NICE to find someone else who doesn’t ship them! It seems like EVERYONE does and I’m like NOPE GET OUTTA MY FACE WITH THAT. lol.

      Like

  2. books are my reality says:

    OMG!!! Finally I have found someone else who did not like Uprooted. I hated that book, and I read the whole stupid thing. It was awful for many reasons other than the relationship with Dragon. Literally everyone else I know loved it. For the life of me I can’t figure out why.

    I can’t get into Cassandra Claire either, and I’ve read several of her books. They all have love triangles and too much whiney, teenage angst. The Mortal Instruments movie was way better than the book. I was surprised it did so poorly at the box office, but I think they’re making it into a tv show now.

    Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      Pretty much everyone I’ve seen that has read Uprooted has loved it and I don’t get it. I couldn’t make it past 12%. It was HORRIBLE. And they are making TMI a tv show, I might check it out, I was pretty surprised at how much I liked the movie over the book.

      Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      SJM is one of my favorite authors, the ToG books are seriously one of my favs! I can’t wait to hear what you think of them! I like adult PNR, for some reason I find it harder to get into YA PNR, I read some but not a lot. Like you said, it’s just a bit too cheesy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

