Book Review → Alanna: The First Adventure

alannatfaTitle: Alanna: The First Adventure
Author: Tamora Pierce
Series: Song of the Lioness, Tortall
Publication Date: December 07th, 2010 (Orig. 1983)

Synopsis: From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight.

In a time when girls are forbidden to be warriors, Alanna of Trebond wants nothing more than to be a knight of the realm of Tortall. So she finds a way to switch places with her twin brother, Thom. Disguised as a boy, Alanna begins her training as a page at the palace of King Roald. But the road to knighthood, as she discovers, is not an easy one. Alanna must master weapons, combat, and magic, as well as polite behavior, her temper, and even her own heart.

Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins, one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and make her a legend in the land.

Review: I have heard a lot of people say good things about Tamora Pierce’s books, Alanna is often a character I hear mentioned from people as well. So the other day when I saw a couple of bloggers talking about one of the books I asked which one I should read and they both said this one. I reserved it from my library and I ended up reading it in a few hours. I just could not stop reading it. I went into the book not knowing what to expect, I didn’t even read the synopsis before requesting it so I wasn’t even sure what the book was going to be about. But man did I enjoy it.

I did have one minor issue, and that was with all of the day to day stuff. I would have liked a bit more action and/or adventure to have happened mixed in with all of that day to day stuff, it would have made things slightly more exciting. I liked Alanna, I loved that she wanted to be a knight and not a learn how to be a lady. There were times when her ‘hysterics’ got annoying but then I remembered when I was 11-13 (and especially after I started my period like her) I could be a little dramatic and I definitely had a temper. (Okay I might still have a temper but that’s a thing us redheads have. So.) I wish I had known about this book when I was younger, I will definitely be putting it in the hands of my niece when she gets a bit older. I really love the whole ‘girls can do anything’ attitude that comes from this book!

Oh one other tiny issue, the book ends in a weird place. But from reading something I found out that the Song of Lioness was originally meant to be one book and was split into four, which would explain why the ending feels weird, and like the book was left unfinished. Because in a sense, it is! Anyway, I am looking forward to the next book, and hopefully I will be able to start it next week.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes!

5 thoughts on “Book Review → Alanna: The First Adventure

  1. Kristina Van Hoose says:

    I read this book within the last year, and I remember reading it quickly because I did not want to put it down. It was refreshing and interesting. I think I’m going to have to reread it and continue on in the series. Thanks for reminding me about it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

