Getting to Know the Blogger

gettingtoknowtheblogger

I have been wanting to start doing a feature where I share a little more about me and my life but I am not the most exciting person ever so I’ve been a little unsure of what to share with ya’ll. But this week I got some exciting news and I decided this was a good time to start.

I am having bariatric surgery at the end of the month. I have not shared this news with a whole lot of people, or talked a lot about it on social media. I have always been really self-conscious about my weight and while I am happy and comfortable with my decision to have the surgery I just didn’t want people second guessing me or offering up their weight loss ‘tips’. I’ve tried everything and have for years. I’m 33 years old, I have been overweight almost all of my life, it got worse after my period started when I was 12. I have a condition called PCOS and it makes it harder for me to lose weight.

My weight at my last doctor’s visit was around 285lbs, I am 5’3″ so I am definitely way over where I need to be. My ultimate goal I would say would be around 140-160 but I plan to go through this one day at a time. It’s a lifestyle change, it’s not a diet. I will be, and already have made, drastic changes in my life.

This journey started a year ago. My insurance required that I do 6 months of supervised weigh ins. You basically have to go to the doctor once a month, they weigh you, and fill out and sign a form. I had to get psychiatric clearance, dietary clearance, attend a group meeting, and watch a seminar. That doesn’t include what other things the doctor required, like having an EGD done and having a sleep study. Let me tell you, if you’ve never had a sleep study done, it is not fun.

I finished all of that in June and then we had to wait on approval from insurance. There was an error the first time and she had to re-mail the paperwork in, so all in all I think not counting the error, it only took a few weeks for them to approve the surgery and then the doctor’s office called to set up my surgery date, and pre-op date. I’m still waiting to hear about when I need to go in and have pre-op blood work done. I start my liquid protein diet on the 17th. I pretty much am limited to protein shakes, fruit or veggies twice a day, and clear liquids for two weeks prior to surgery to help shrink my liver. Then after surgery it’s a weird diet starting with clear liquids working back up to eating solid foods and takes months to do.

I am both nervous and excited for this surgery. I have never had surgery before but I am excited to start this new journey. Feel free to ask me any questions about things. I will try to answer them as best as possible but please note that I am not a doctor and things will be answered based on my experiences.

2 thoughts on “Getting to Know the Blogger

Leave a Reply

