Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

tuesdaypost2

Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read


READ

ttt-0804read

I have only recently started reading fairy tale retellings and these are just five of the ones that I have really enjoyed reading. I have read quite a few more and it was a bit hard to narrow the list down to five.

WANT TO READ

ttt-0804wanttoread

I have quite a few retellings on my TBR list but these are five that I am really, really looking forward to reading. I’m actually looking forward to the entire Splintered series but I decided not to use three spots for it.

WANT RETELLINGS OF

There was also the option this week to tell what we’d like retellings of so I’m doing that as well. I would really like non-Disney/Americanized fairy tale retellings. By that I mean something other than Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, etc etc. I’d love to have more fairy tale stories from tales from other countries, especially if they are written by people from those countries. I would especially love Indian ones. Just something that we’ve not heard a million times retold a million times. I want something new and different, something from countries that do not get enough attention and love, and I definitely want stuff with more diverse cast, racially and sexuality wise. Well diversity in every case actually. Just more tales that we’ve not heard of with a wide range of characters please.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The The Broke and Bookish.

9 thoughts on “Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Morgan @ Gone with the Words says:

    I really loved ACOTAR, Cruel Beauty, and Stitching Snow! Great choices! Crimson Bound and The Wrath and the Dawn are on my tbr 🙂 Uprooted is really excellent, otherwise I want to read all of those too! A few of my other favorites include Ella Enchanted, Hook’s Revenge, Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel, Entwined, For Darkness Shows the Stars, and the Scarlet trilogy.

    Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      I knew there was one I was going to put on my ‘want to read list’ but I wasn’t in my room and forgot. I have Scarlet downstairs, I checked it out from the library but haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet. I own Ella Enchanted but I can’t recall if I’ve read it or not, I’ve had it for quite a long, long time. I’ve not heard of any of the other ones that you mentioned, I will have to look into them. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

      • Morgan @ Gone with the Words says:

        You’re welcome! Scarlet takes a little getting used to but the story and characters are great. I can’t help it when it comes to fairy tales, and I love adding to people’s giant TBRs 🙂

        Like

  2. The Petite Book Blogger says:

    You brought out an excellent point I would love for there to be a not diverse group of fairy tales to be retold. There are so many amazing cultures out there that have some great legend that can be retold. Anyway there was a great selection of books in your TTT.

    P.S. I’m going to be reading Never, Never soon! I can’t wait it lols like an amazing book!

    Like

  3. Chachic says:

    Cruel Beauty is in my list too. I thought it was a unique retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Uprooted is one of my favorite reads this year so I hope you enjoy reading that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

