Book Review → Aquaman Vol 1

aquamanTitle: Aquaman, Vol. 1: The Trench
Author: Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, Joe Prado
Series: Aquaman
Publication Date: September 11th, 2012

Synopsis: The King of the Seven Seas Aquaman returns to his very own ongoing series for the first time in years at the hands of DC Entertainment Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns, who reteams with GREEN LANTERN collaborator artist Ivan Reis! Between proving himself to a world that sees him as a joke, Aquaman and his bride Mera face off against a long buried terror from the depths of the ocean!

Review: This is my first DC Comic, second ever comic, and I have to say that I am in love. I love Arthur and Mera so freaking much. They are both soo amazing. I honestly do not know much about these two characters or their stories when I went into this comic, but I don’t feel that this hindered me in any way. Arthur gets a lot of flack for being Aquaman and he isn’t taken seriously, something I sort of had already gathered from fandom since most of them don’t take him seriously either. By the end of the book, when he saves the day, he’s changed some people’s opinion of him, even has a little boy telling him that he is his favorite hero. Mera is different from Arthur, where he is for the most part more caring and passive, Mera is more likely to bust your face in first. Seriously I love everything about these two. I really, really enjoyed reading this and I am really excited to pick up the next volumes and to read the Justice League comics. The artwork is amazing as well. Overall, a great start to this series.

aquamanreadingprogress

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: YES!

aquamanimageimage

Leave a Reply

