Currently Reading → Written in Red

cr-writteninred

Currently Reading → Written in Red by Anne Bishop

As a cassandra sangue, or blood prophet, Meg Corbyn can see the future when her skin is cut—a gift that feels more like a curse. Meg’s Controller keeps her enslaved so he can have full access to her visions. But when she escapes, the only safe place Meg can hide is at the Lakeside Courtyard—a business district operated by the Others.

Shape-shifter Simon Wolfgard is reluctant to hire the stranger who inquires about the Human Liaison job. First, he senses she’s keeping a secret, and second, she doesn’t smell like human prey. Yet a stronger instinct propels him to give Meg the job. And when he learns the truth about Meg and that she’s wanted by the government, he’ll have to decide if she’s worth the fight between humans and the Others that will surely follow.

My Thoughts: This is a re-read for me. I’ve read this one three times already but I just love this series. Yes I did just post the book recommendation post for this yesterday but as I was reading I came across a good point as to why I re-read books. I found something in this book, well made a connection, between to plot points (things mentioned) that I hadn’t made in my previous readings of the book. This is why I re-read books, because no matter how many times I have read them, I am always finding something new. Or making new connections, or coming up with new theories, and I just love it. If you have no read this one, I definitely recommend it, obviously. This series is a little different in that Bishop does a slow large world arc plot while each book has their own plot that intermingle with that but still get resolved. I know some people have said this one is ~slow, but she does a lot of character building in this one along with the plot and world building, and to me the world building is so, so, so important and Bishop does it in a way that she’s not dumping information on you, and you need this information for the later books. I just love the way that they’re set up, and she’s done things.

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

