Book Review → Ugly Love

ugly loveTitle: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: August 05th, 2014

Synopsis: When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Review: I didn’t hate this book but I didn’t love it either. I’m not even sure I’d say I liked it. The synopsis makes it seem like both Tate and Miles are perfectly fine with their friends with benefits arrangement, that Tate doesn’t have time for a relationship, and the she didn’t fall in love with him at first sight. Yet, none of that is what happens in the book. Tate is NOT okay with their fwb status, she practically did fall in love with Miles at first sight, it was within their first two meetings, and while she is supposedly super busy, she makes a lot of time for Miles. The synopsis is super misleading and I think that’s a huge reason why I didn’t enjoy the book as much. I was expecting to find a woman who was comfortable, and fine, with a sex based relationship, when in fact, she was pining away wanting more.

I didn’t enjoy Miles’ flashback chapters, and they appeared every other chapter. They were flat, Rachel and Miles were both flat in them, Rachel’s only role was Miles’ man pain, which is a huge reason I didn’t like them.

Miles is kind of a jerk to Tate most of the book. He’s got his man pain shit still going on from six years prior, he won’t talk about it, and she’s just supposed to accept it and his behavior. Miles also spent a good deal playing head games with her, he said he only wanted it to be about sex but every chance he got he was giving her hope that’d he’d eventually want more. Then when she’d say or do something to indicate she wanted more, even just asking questions, he’d get cold and mean.

I really wanted to like Tate, she wasn’t a bad character, and she had a lot of potential. I felt bad for her most of the book though because of the way Miles treated her. Tate is an intelligent, funny, caring woman, I would have rather had much more of her and a lot less of Miles. It would have also been nice if she hadn’t let Miles walk all over her under the guise of her being in love with him and hoping he’d come around and love her back. That really rubbed me the wrong way. It would have also been nice to see her interact with some females, the only she interacts with in the book is her mother and their conversation is about how hot Miles is. Tate is much more than Miles’ love interest and I wish the author had shown that. We NEVER see her going to class, or at work, or hanging out with friends, or anything that doesn’t have to do with Miles. Despite the fact that she is supposedly ~super busy and has no time for a relationship right now. Her entire being is meant to revolve around Miles and his storyline and that really effing pisses me off. Tate deserves so much better from the author than that. WOMEN ARE NOT HERE SOLELY FOR THE WHIMS OF MEN.

Something that bothered me a lot was towards the end Miles finally starts getting closure and miraculously realizes he is in love with Tate. So he goes to her apologizes, tells her a TINY bit about his past and she’s expected to just forgive him and fall at his feet, like she should be grateful he’s in love with her. It drove me nuts that the author figured, after all he put her through, an apology was good enough to make everything right. Bleh no.

Apparently I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I did. I have been wracking my brain to find something positive to say, or to mention a part I liked but I am drawing a blank. I enjoyed the book the most when Miles wasn’t being a jerk, him and Tate really were cute then, but it’s hard to get past the amount of times he was a jerk. Ah well, I guess this just wasn’t the book for me. I can’t even see myself picking up any of this author’s other books at this point in time.

Stars:
Recommendation: Skip it

Leave a Reply

