Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

midyeartag

I was tagged by Jess at Princessica of Books. My goodreads challenge for the year is 50 books, I am WAY over that, I just haven’t marked a lot of them as read yet. I’ve been a slacker at transferring over reviews and writing up reviews.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015.

I have read so many great books and it’s hard to choose just one. But I am going to, even if it kills me. My choice for best book read so far is Misery Loves Company by Tracey Martin. It was technically a re-read but I still read it this year and it’s AMAZING. I plan on starting the next book, Darkest Misery, soon.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015.

Visions in Silver by Anne Bishop definitely no contest. The Others series is simply amazing. It’s one of my favorites! Oh okay The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead was amazing as well and it was the end of the Bloodlines series, an amazing ending at that.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik, Lois Lane by Gwenda Bond, The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent, The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs, and many many more.
deadheatloislane

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Definitely The Rose Society by Marie Lu. I loved The Young Elites and I am crazy excited for the sequel! I cannot wait for October to get here!

5. Biggest disappointment.

Sadly Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein. I was expecting more of a fantasy but there were very little fantasy elements in the parts of the book I manage to read of it before putting it aside. If I had gone into it knowing it was more of a contemporary I think I would have enjoyed it more.

6. Biggest surprise.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. There was a lot of hype around the book before it came out and I went into it not really knowing what to expect since it was her debut and I am not really familiar with the fairy tale that it is based on. But oh man, this book is simply amazing. It is one of my favorites and I cannot wait for the sequel!
thewrath

7. Favorite new author.

Ilona Andrews. I finally started reading their Kate Daniels series, it’s been on my list to read forever, and I kept hearing people talk about it so I got the first one from the library. And I binge read the entire series, well what is out of it anyways. THEN I started picking up books from their other series. I am in LOVE with everything of theirs that I have read. If you have no read anything by them do it, definitely start with Magic Bites.

8. Newest fictional crush.

I don’t really have fictional crushes, I mean I have a few, but not a lot of them. But I can add Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas to that list.
acotar

9. Newest favorite character.

Kamala Khan from Ms. Marvel and Rachelle from Crimson Bound.

10. Book that made you cry.

The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows. She’s evil like that yo.
theorphanqueen

11. Book that made you happy.

Deadly Spells by Jaye Wells. I don’t want to tell you why, it’s a spoiler, but it happens at the end of the book. So go read them and find out.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

The Mockingjay Part 1 I really enjoyed it, never mind that it happens to be the only one I’ve seen (that I recall). It’s really true to the book, and in my opinion, the best of the movies to date. I’m actually looking forward to Part 2.

13. Favorite post you have done so far in this year.

PEN PALS! Go sign up! You have until July 31st! (For real if you didn’t see that coming… lol)

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year.

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan, Illustrated by John Rocco. These pictures say it all.

pjgreekgods1
pjgreekgods2pjgreekgods3

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Anything that has ARC attached to it … lol. Trouble on Tap by Avery Flynn, Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith, Led Astray by Kelley Armstrong, Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong, Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch, Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Who I tag:
Bekka @ Pretty Deadly Blog
Kaitlin @ Reading is my Treasure
Carrie @ Fantasy Findings
Skylee @ The Night Girl
Gabi @ BooksABlog
And anyone else who wants to do it! (If you do it, feel free to comment with your link!)

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Bekka says:

    Eeee excited to do this! I’ll probably have my post up next Wednesdayish.

    I loved The Wrath and the Dawn too! I totally expected to love it, even though it uses some tropes I’m not a huge fan of. Sadly, I think I’m in the minority when it comes to ACOTAR. Oh well, can’t love them all. I also can’t wait to get to Uprooted – so much hype around it makes me a bit nervous, but fantasy has been my jam this year so I hope it works out.

    Like

    • Denise Targaryen says:

      I totally knew I had to tag you in this! ;D

      I had one small issue with ACOTAR, which I plan on mentioning in my review after I re-read, but for the most part I loved it. And I only recently heard about Uprooted so I haven’t seen much hype, just a lot of people reading it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

