Book Review → The Heart of Betrayal

the heart of betrayalTitle: The Heart of Betrayal
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles
Publication Date: July 07th, 2015

Synopsis: Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

Review: Reading this book was slowing going for me at the start. I loved the first one and I was afraid that this one would suffer from sequel syndrome. But omg that was not the case. This book was so amazing! I loved it so much more than The Kiss of Deception! Though dang it, I am a little miffed at the EVIL cliffhangers. Mary ALWAYS cuts off at the best (aka the WORST) places and the wait for the next book is killer!

I’m only briefly going to talk about characters. I still LOVE Lia. She has to make a lot of hard choices and she’s got such a big heart, I really think she’s a great character. I still don’t like Kaden, for reasons that are even more apparent in this book than they were in the first one, and I’m not going to spoil you. But bleh on him. I wanted to make heart eyes at Rafe the entire book, I’ve shipped him and Lia since the first book, even when I didn’t know their names yet. And I always seem to like the antagonists, ok for the most part, so it’s no surprise that I liked the Komizar. He got his just deserts in the end too, which is perfect.

I just went to see how long I have to anguish until the next book and there’s no release date. Brb while I go cry. (Go read The Kiss of Deception, then read this one so you can cry with me!)

the heart of betrayal status updates

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Yes, read it!

Leave a Reply

