Book Review → The Sin Eater’s Daughter

the sin eater's daughterTitle: The Sin Eater’s Daughter
Author: Melinda Salisbury
Series: The Sin Eater’s Daughter
Publication Date: March 1st, 2015

Synopsis: I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told.

Review: I didn’t hate this book but I didn’t love it either. I started out really enjoying it but about two-thirds of the way through it I found my attention wandering. Or I found myself rolling my eyes at things going on. I was really excited for it going into it and a little sad I am not as equally excited at the end of the book, I’m mostly relieved it’s over. I will say, unlike several of my friends, the incest didn’t bother me. It’s something that happens in royal families, it happened quite often in our very real history, and is something that is sometimes seen in fantasy, and the author wasn’t writing an incestuous relationship with the two main characters. I seriously went in expecting the main two characters to be brother and sister and to be the love interest with some of the reactions I saw on goodreads. (If anyone is interested it’s his mother married to her cousin and she goes quite a bit nuts and talks about getting rid of her husband to marry her son to keep their line pure. But that doesn’t actually happen. And she is seriously nuts.) I will likely read the second book at some point, I’m not in a huge rush but that cliffhanger was a good one. Well played.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: If it sounds good then give it a shot!

One thought on “Book Review → The Sin Eater’s Daughter

  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    I had very similar feelings towards this book as you! I just feel no strong emotions towards this book *sad sigh* I think the hype got to me!

    Nice review xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

