Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

tuesdaypost2

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

ttt063001

Veiled Empire by Nathan Garrison is an adult high fantasy, and one of the best I have read in a long time. If this is a genre you like, you definitely need to add it to your list.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas is a YA high fantasy, semi fairy tale retelling. It’s more inspired by Beauty and the Beast than a retelling in my opinion. I absolutely loved this one, I did have a small issued towards the end that I’ll talk about in my review, but seriously loved this one.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh is a fairytale retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. I’m not familiar with the original tale but I loved everything about this book. It was absolutely AMAZING and if you haven’t read it yet you need to.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is a high fantasy YA novel. I had a serious book hangover from this one and I wanted to cry when I finished it because I wanted more. This is seriously probably top 3 so far this year for me. I loved, loved, loved this book so much. I am excited for the sequel.

Chase Me by Tessa Bailey is a NA contemporary romance. I haven’t been reading a lot of contemporary’s lately but I have pretty much loved everything that Bailey has written and was really excited for her NA series to come out. This book is seriously one of the best NA contemporary romances I have ever read.

ttt063002

Lion’s Share by Rachel Vincent is a NA Paranormal Romance, however, if you have not read her Stray series yet, do not read this one just yet. Read the Stray series first, Jace (the hero in this series), is a HUGE part of the Stray series, and trust me you will want his fun playful side before you get his serious brooding side. Plus, this series is effing amazing and one of the ONLY series with were-jaguars.

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge is a YA fairytale retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. This is the first book I had read by this author and I was simply awed by it. The writing and storytelling are simply amazing. I loved everything about this book, it is definitely one I can see myself re-reading over and over.

Misery Loves Company by Tracey Martin is an adult urban fantasy. If you haven’t read this series yet WHY THE FUCK NOT?! I mention it ALL the time! Seriously it’s one of my favorites, I’ll never stop mentioning it, so you might as well go read it. The fourth book is coming out in August and then the series ends with book five, which will make me cry all the tears. (Though I think Tracey has plans to make me cry in book four.)

Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop is an adult urban fantasy paranormal novel. I simply love this book. In Written in Red we spend more time getting to know the characters, and as each book goes on we peel back layers and layers of what is going on in the world, and things just get more and more complex. And I just love it. I cannot wait for Marked in the Flesh to come out in the Spring but I see we’re at least getting five books! So yay for that.

Deadly Spells by Jaye Wells is an adult urban fantasy that focuses mostly on magic. If you’ve never read one of Wells is books you are seriously missing out and you need to go pick up Dirty Magic, the first in this series, and start it right away. You will not be disappointed.

ttt063003

Bonus books because I couldn’t pick just 10!

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews is an adult urban fantasy written by a couple. This book had been on my list for YEARS and I kept putting it off because I kept mixing it up with another book I tried to read and couldn’t get into. So I requested it from the library and finally read it and I couldn’t put the book down. I read the entire series, that is out it appears we might be getting 10 books total, and I am simply in love with this series/world.

All Played Out by Cora Carmack is an NA contemporary romance and is one of the best I’ve read. The entire series is good, but this is by far my favorite of the three of the books. Cora is such an amazing writer I really can’t wait for the fourth book in this series.

The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace is a YA high fantasy. I really liked this one, it’s one of the best YA high fantasies that I have read in a long time. I am really looking forward to the next book in the series.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The The Broke and Bookish.

9 thoughts on “Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

  1. SharonBooks (@SharonBooks) says:

    So many amazing books made your list! I can’t wait to read The Wrath and the Dawn and Deadly Spells. Kate Daniels is one of my favourite series, I hope you enjoy it just as much.

    I have just read The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent and I loved it but her Stray series was a big miss for me because of the love triangle so I am a bit wary of Lion’s Share.

    A great list! Sharon – Obsession with Books

    Like

  2. Literary Feline says:

    You’ve got some great titles here! I love Anne Bishop’s books. I am behind with my Ilona books, but I’m a big fan of all their books I’ve read so far. Jaye Wells is on my list of authors to try.

    Like

  3. Axie @ Books are Bread says:

    This list is brilliant. Now I want to read all these books! Also, love all the NA/fantasy titles – adding so many books to my TBR right now.

    The Veiled Empire. Chase Me. Lion’s Share. Misery Loves Company. Deadly Spells <<< I haven't heard of any of these! Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

