Book Review → Veiled Empire

veiled empireTitle: Veiled Empire
Author: Nathan Garrison
Publication Date:May 26th, 2015

Synopsis: The Empire is Shrouded, not only by the barrier that covers the land, but by the lies and oppression of the mierothi regime. Magic is the privilege of the elite, and the people of this shadowed country have forgotten what it means to hope under their rule.

But there are some who would resist, with plans put into motion millennia before. For returned to the Empire is a valynkar, servant of the god of light, and with him comes the strength and cunning that could tip the scales to end the Emperor’s reign. He has gathered a group of heroes ready to ignite the flame of rebellion and fight against the dark power that has ruled for nearly two thousand years. A power that has champions of its own.

Review: Seriously one of my favorite fantasy books I have read this year. The world building is complex, the characters are complex, the plot is complex, and everything is just simply amazingly done. As soon as I finished I immediately tweeted Garrison asking if there was going to be more, because I NEED MORE BOOKS IN THIS WORLD, I am hoping Harper Voyager green lights them because seriously this world is amazing. This book is amazing. I finished reading this book at the beginning of May and I’ve held off writing my review in hopes that I’d become less flaily and more insightful but that’s clearly not happening. I don’t want to talk too much about what happens in the book, there is a lot that happens and I always worry about spoiling people. I don’t like to be spoiled, so I don’t like to spoil others. If you like complex and well built high fantasy novels, with AMAZING characters then you definitely should check this one out, Garrison has a wonderful debut novel and I definitely will be checking out more of his work.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Yes!
I received an ARC of this book from Harper Voyager on Edelweiss. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

