Book Review → Clean Sweep

clean sweepTitle: Clean Sweep
Author: Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles
Publication Date: December 02nd, 2013

Synopsis: On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is…different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, “normal” is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night….Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.

Review: In my quest to tide myself over until the next Kate Daniels book comes out I have taken it upon myself to start reading all of their other books. The first few chapters into this one I thought it was a little too cheesy, and you can’t really blame me, it is a little cheesy. But after a few more chapters I got sucked in and couldn’t put the book down. I needed to know what happened. And I NEEDED Dina and Sean to fall in love with each other and have cute little half-werewolf babies. The little vampire, whose name I have forgotten, can just run along because I just don’t have time for him and this little love triangle. Unless the three of them have a threesome then I’d be interested. Otherwise, no thanks.

One thing I did like about this book was that this book is a mix of science fiction and fantasy. The werewolves and vampires, as well as other creatures, are all alien species from other planets. The setting is very modern except space travel seems much more advanced and of course there is the whole magic element. I am looking forward to the next book in this series, though I think it’s currently only available to read on their website so I will be waiting until it’s available from my library.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes!

One thought on “Book Review → Clean Sweep

Leave a Reply

