Book Review → Ms Marvel

ms marvelTitle: Ms, Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal
Writer: G. Willow Wilson
Artist: Adrian Alphona
Series: Ms. Marvel (Marvel NOW! #1-5)
Publication Date: October 30th, 2014

Synopsis: Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, New York!

Review: I’m a huge superhero fan but when I was a kid I raised by a single parent and she wasn’t able to afford to buy comics, even though me and my brother wanted to read them. So this is my first one. As I got older I just got more into books and never venture into comic books, until now. And I’m really glad I did. I really enjoyed this one. I attempted to read one on a tablet but it was too distracting, it’s much easier to read them and stay invested in them in physical form, at least for me.

As for Kamala Khan, I love her, so freaking much. I really was able to enjoy her and emphasis with her character a lot. She’s sarcastic, yet cares a lot about people, especially her friends and family. While I’ve not experienced a lot of things that she has, I have felt several of the things that she has. I’ve always been overweight and frankly there are way too many people who say rude things or make rude gestures about it. I really wish that Kamala had existed when I was growing up, I really think she would have done great things for my self-esteem and I am thoroughly happy that young girls and teens get to read her. I really look forward to reading the next one!

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Yes!

Leave a Reply

