Book Review → Cloak of Deceit

cloak of deceitTitle: Cloak of Deceit
Author: Gwen Mitchell
Series: Alex Moore
Publication Date: January 30th, 2015

Synopsis: When her latest bad-boy lover accidentally turns her into a vampire, college senior Alex Moore discovers her latent telekinetic ability. Psychic powers mark her as one of the Grigori, the sworn enemies of the Undead. No one has ever been both. Caught in the middle of a war she doesn’t understand, Alex’s only hope for survival is a Knight of the Cloak – a sexy Undead enforcer named Julian. But will he give up his rank and cast aside old loyalties to save her? Can she harness her psychic powers and her Undead instincts while being hunted by both sides? And given her track record, can Alex really trust any man she’s that attracted to?

Review: I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely one of the more unique vampire books. In that the other paranormal ‘creatures’ in the book are not werewolves like too often found but they are essentially magi/mages called the Grigori. (Which was a little weird to me since I’ve read other books that use Grigori to reference Angels and I kept getting confused and thinking of Angels instead of mages.) The pacing of the story is really good I was able to stay interested in the story the entire time, there were not any parts that lagged, or were not interesting, or where I started to lose my very short attention span. The only time I put the book down was to sleep and I hated to do that, I wanted to finish it because I really wanted to know what happened.

I didn’t really have any problems with anything in the book. Mitchell has written a really good book and has done a splendid job editing it. A lot of Alex’s problems were of her own making from bad decisions but she didn’t whine and complain about it. She handled the consequences and kept on going. Her constant he loves me, he loves me not flip-flop got a little tiring but given all of the things she had gone through in her past relationships and even recently I really couldn’t fault her for it. She couldn’t be sure who to trust, she has people constantly telling her contradicting things, and it does make sense for her to be weary of Julian.

I am very much looking forward to the future books in this series, this one ended in a cliffhanger so I’d really, really like the next one ASAP!! I also look forward to reading more books period from this author. I strongly recommend this book to urban fantasy fans.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes!
I received an ARC of this book from the author. This in no way affected my review.

One thought on “Book Review → Cloak of Deceit

Leave a Reply

