Book Review → The Hot Scot

Title: The Hot Scot
Author: Kate Eden
Series: The Murdoch Vampires
Publication Date: April 11th, 2013

Synopsis: Logan Murdoch hates complications. All he wants to do is work in his lab and create products to help vampires blend into mortal society. But when his mother begs him to get her painting back from the museum, he discovers a very attractive complication in the form of curator Sydney Worth. She buys his lie that he’s the descendant of the man in the three-hundred-year-old painting, but refuses to give it to him. What’s worse? She’s immune to his mind control.

Sydney couldn’t believe her eyes when the spitting image of the Hot Scot walked into the museum. But her attraction to Logan Murdoch suffers a huge blow when he demands the painting. Losing the piece could threaten her job and she senses Logan is hiding something from her. But this vampire who hates complications and the ambitious curator with trust issues are about to learn the fine art of love.

Review: I am not the biggest paranormal romance fan, I much prefer urban fantasy. I love this author’s urban fantasy books that she writes under another name so I figured I would give this series a shot. And boy did I remember why I rarely read paranormal romance. This book is not horrible, I’ve definitely read way worse in this genre, but I have read better as well. It’s got quite a bit of cheesy moments, I felt the plot could have been developed better, some of the dialogue felt like the characters all had one voice in places instead of their own.

The thing I enjoyed the most was Sydney. I felt that she was just as well-developed and written as the character’s in Eden’s urban fantasy books. Sydney is snarky, she knows what she wants, she is caring, but doesn’t let people walk all over her, and like all people she has baggage but she doesn’t let it make her brooding and mopey.

I will likely give the second book in the series a read, I didn’t hate this one. I just feel that it has good bones and could have been better developed.

*Kate Eden writes urban fantasy under the name Jaye Wells.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Rec’d for PNR fans

Leave a Reply

