Book Review → City of Eternal Night

city of eternal nightTitle: City of Eternal Night
Author: Kristen Painter
Series: Crescent City
Publication Date: December 2nd, 2014

Synopsis: Perfection. Goodness. Elimination of evil. It’s what seventeen-year-old Kaylyn has trained her entire life to achieve. But no one is prepared for the consequences of her actually defeating all evil people on the planet. Finally successful in her mission, Kaylyn faces an unfamiliar world, full of good people doing good things, in which she no longer has purpose.

When the skies grow dark, and a stranger from another village pleads for her help, her instincts roar to life. It turns out their perfect world isn’t exactly what it seems. Kaylyn’s new quest, harder than any she’s been on before, will rip apart her friendships, her life, and her soul more than any evil man ever managed to.

*This review is going to contain spoilers. There is something that really bothered me and I just can’t think of a way to dance around it, so consider this a warning. I’ll warn again under the cut.

Review: I did enjoy this book a lot more than the first one, which like I predicted was not memorable at all. I was a tin bit lost at the beginning, I couldn’t remember exactly what had happened at the end and it took me a few to catch up. The story moves at a good pace, there weren’t any slow points or too fast points. The amount of alternating povs got a little annoying. I don’t particularly care for the witches, they make good antagonists, but I really don’t care to have the story told from their pov. However, I will admit their part was important to the overall plot. I would have much rather just read from Augustine and Harlow’s povs.

(This is where the spoiler is.) The only thing that really bothered me, and took away from my enjoyment of the story, was the bit with Ava Mae. I felt when it was first starting, when Harlow was at the tree bringing her back from the dead, that the dialogue was poorly written. It was incredibly obvious Ava Mae was up to no good and it just made Harlow seem like an idiot, even though until that point she had proved not to be one. It was very poorly written and I wasn’t happy with the cliffhanger ending. I really hope in the third book they find a way to expel Ava Mae quickly and move on from that plot to something else.

Yes as you can take it from that last sentence, I plan on reading the next book. Like I said, I enjoyed this one a lot more, and I have a good feeling about the third one. Also, the covers on this series are gorgeously done.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Sure, keep in mind this is a spinoff, you don’t NEED to read that one though.
I received an ARC of this book from the Orbit on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

