Book Review → Inked

inkedTitle: Inked
Author: Eric Smith
Publication Date: January 20th, 2015

Synopsis: Tattoos once were an act of rebellion.

Now they decide your destiny the moment the magical Ink settles under your skin.

And in a world where Ink controls your fate, Caenum can’t escape soon enough. He is ready to run from his family, and his best friend Dreya, and the home he has known, just to have a chance at a choice.

But when he upsets the very Scribe scheduled to give him his Ink on his eighteenth birthday, he unwittingly sets in motion a series of events that sends the corrupt, magic-fearing government, The Citadel, after him and those he loves.

Now Caenum, Dreya, and their reluctant companion Kenzi must find their way to the Sanctuary, a secret town where those with the gift of magic are safe. Along the way, they learn the truth behind Ink, its dark origins, and why they are the only ones who can stop the Citadel.

Review: I enjoyed this book, it’s an interesting story, and an interesting idea. I had some small issues with it, but overall it’s a really good book. To me in many parts it felt like the book was a little under-developed. I would have liked to know more about the Citadel, how they came to be, why they started forcing the inking (just to control them?), etc. Also in the story it’s not mentioned how old they are when they get the inking, it’s mentioned in the synopsis but that’s not something I remembered when I started the book and would have been nice to have mentioned. I feel like we learned more about the resistance than we did about the evil corrupt government. I wasn’t as invested in the conflict as I could have been, sure they’re bad and needed to be taken down, but I didn’t have that ‘I HATE THEM FYEAH TAKE THEM DOWN’ moments that I wish I had.

Dreya is my absolute favorite character in the book, she’s the most solid character, she’s kind, intelligent, and funny. Caenum bothered me a lot. I did keep in mind all of the things that he was going through and his age, and yes I realize he recently suffered a loss and was mourning, however, suck it up buttercup. You’re in a resistance fighting an evil government. You don’t have the luxury of days/weeks of mourning/pouting/being a spoiled brat. I was really disappointed in him that he didn’t bother learning anything to do with his magic when he knew it was important that he do so. I was disappointed that Dreya didn’t either and actually enabled his slacking, instead of pushing him to do and be better, and doing the same for herself. Kenzi is an interesting character, I don’t want to say much about him, I want you to see him for yourself but definitely interesting.

Overall Inked is an interesting and enjoyable young adult fantasy.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Yeah
I received an ARC of this book from Bloomsbury on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

