Book Review → Saving the CEO

23280524Title: Saving the CEO
Author: Jenny Holiday
Series: 49th Floor
Publication Date: October 20th, 2014

Synopsis: Real estate mogul Jack Winter has rules. Lots of rules. After all, a man doesn’t build an empire without a little discipline. And on page one of the rulebook? Don’t sleep with your employees. Especially when there’s a multimillion dollar real estate deal at stake…

Luckily for Jack, Cassie James isn’t really his employee. She’s a hot bartender who just happens to be the math genius he needs, and if they share a wicked chemistry? Well, that’s just a sexy little perk. So they strike a deal: Cassie helps Jack with the merger. And until the deal goes through at Christmas, they can indulge every sexy little impulse they desire. But the more rules Jack makes, the more he seems to break.

Review: I was a little hesitant when I requested this ARC, I’m not even sure what drew me to it, the synopsis didn’t show me anything different from other books in the genre. Man and woman meet, have a sexual attraction, try not to fall in love, end up falling in love, have some sort of conflict keeping them apart before the resolution and happily ever after. And while for the most part the story did play out like that I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed the book.

Jenny Holiday has written some witty, real, and engaging characters, I was easily pulled in by Cassie, and I wanted so badly for her to have her happy ending. I loved that she isn’t a super skinny, modelesque woman, she’s not even described as ‘curvy in all the right places’, oh no, she’s on the plus side and neither Cassie nor Holiday are apologetic about it. There’s no ‘I’m trying to lose weight’ or embarrassment about her weight, Cassie is comfortable in her own skin, she’s confident, sexy, funny, and charming. She is everything, as a plus size woman, I have been waiting to see from a plus sized character. So, Jenny, thank you for that, it really made this book incredible.

I really liked Jack, he wasn’t your typical caveman alpha male that I find in these type of books. He did have a few possessive moments, but nothing that I found too creepy. Or that made me raise my eyebrows and say ‘GIRL RUN, RUN AWAY FROM HIM’. I loved that Jack accepted Cassie as she was, he didn’t try to change her, didn’t make snarky comments about her weight or appearance, didn’t make comments about how much she ate, he liked her just as she was. In fact, there was a moment in the book where we see Jack saying how much he likes Cassie just as she is after some women near him have made some comments about Cassie’s weight and how she’d be prettier if she lost some.

Sure there were some cliche moments but overall I found myself not caring, Holiday did such a good job getting me wrapping up in her characters and forming attachments to them that I was able to look past cliches that normally might have bothered me. This is a great debut book and I cannot wait to see what other books Holiday brings.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Sure
I received an ARC of this book from Entangled Publishing on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

