Book Review → Daughter of the Blood

reviewbannerdaughterofthebloodab

363783Title: Daughter of the Blood
Author: Anne Bishop
Series: The Black Jewels
Publication Date: March 1st, 1998

Synopsis: The Dark Kingdom is preparing itself for the fulfillment of an ancient prophecy–the arrival of a new Queen, a Witch who will wield more power than even the High Lord of Hell himself. But this new ruler is young, and very susceptible to influence and corruption; whoever controls her controls the Darkness. And now, three sworn enemies begin a ruthless game of politics and intrigue, magic and betrayal, and the destiny of an entire world is at stake.

Review: I’ve been meaning to read this since I read Written in Blood two years ago. The e-book finally came in for me and I could not put it down. Overall I loved the book. I had a few small problems with it, the grown ass men wanting to sleep/rape a 7-year-old, actually that was really the biggest problem I had with it. It continued when she aged to 12. The book has a lot of dark parts but at the same time there are a lot of lighter, funny moments, Bishop did a good job of making sure there was a good balance and not a lot of overwhelming dark parts.

I loved Jaenelle. And Daemon. And Lucivar. The heroes and even the anti-heroes in the book have both good and bad qualities. They are well-developed, well fleshed out characters. The world building is really amazing and in-depth. I would have liked to have known more about the jewels and how they worked with the castes. The pacing was good the story was never too fast nor did it lag in places. My only complaint was that I wanted more of Lucivar.

Daughter of the Blood is an amazing high fantasy novel, I thoroughly look forward to reading the next books in this series.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Read it!

Leave a Reply

