Book Review → Chase the Dark

Chase the DarkTitle: Chase the Dark
Author: Annette Marie
Series: Steel & Stone
Publication Date: October 17th, 2014

Synopsis: Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: To become a Consul, a keeper of the peace between humans and daemons. There are precisely three obstacles in her way.

The first is Lyre. Incubus. Hotter than hell and with a wicked streak to match. His greatest mission in life is to get Piper into bed and otherwise annoy the crap out of her. The second is Ash. Draconian. Powerful. Dangerous. He knows too much and reveals nothing. Also, disturbingly attractive — and scary. Did she mention scary?

The third is the Sahar Stone. Top secret magical weapon of mass destruction. Previously hidden in her Consulate until thieves broke in, went on a murder spree, and disappeared with the weapon.

And they left Piper to take the fall for their crimes.

Now she’s on the run, her dreams of becoming a Consul shattered and every daemon in the city gunning to kill her. She’s dead on her own, but there’s no one she can trust — no one except two entirely untrustworthy daemons… See problems one and two.

Review: I was a little leery when I started this book, I was definitely intrigued from the synopsis but I’ve not had good luck with indie books lately. However, I have to say this book is really good, it’s well written, the plot is well done, and the author doesn’t over do it on the romance. I really enjoyed Piper, Ash, and Lyre, as well as their interactions with each other. I felt that she had just the right amount of romance for this story, it didn’t overpower the plot, and actually left me wanting more from them. (I tend to want less when the author overpowers the plot with it and more when they don’t! In my mind, this is a good thing, because Annette has well-developed characters and has gotten me involved in their lives.)

This book has a different take on angels and demons, they’re both called daemons, the ‘angels’ are from the Overworld and the ‘demons’ are from the Underworld. They’re pretty much the same, the ‘angels’ aren’t good, or anything, they can be as evil and bloodthirsty as the ‘demons’. I’m not a huge fan of angels and demons book, I really feel the genre is overdone, and in most cases, not done well. However, Annette’s take on them is really fascinating to me, I want to know a ton more about the daemons, their powers, the castes. I would have loved if we had gotten more information on them, even if it was in the form of an appendix.

The pacing of the story is good, there were never any parts that felt like things were dragging, nor where there parts where it felt like things were going too fast. Also I didn’t find any parts where I felt something that was going on wasn’t necessary, or felt like it was added to pad the word count. Every scene in the book served a purpose, was necessary, and helped move the story forward.

Chase the Dark is a well done, original, and intriguing urban fantasy. I enjoyed it from start to finish, with very little that I didn’t like (the use of concussion in places bothered me) but I had no major problems with this book. It is definitely one I think Urban Fantasy fans need to check out.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Read it
I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

