Blog Tour → The Savage Fortress

dbt presents sav fortress

The Savage Fortress by Sarwat Chadda

unnamedBOOK SUMMARY:

The gods and monsters of India roar to life in this thrilling fantasy!

After three weeks of vacation, Ash Mistry is ready to leave the heat and dust of India behind him. Then he discovers a gleaming gold arrowhead hidden in the sands—a weapon used to defeat evil King Ravana in legend.

At least, Ash is pretty sure it’s only a legend . . .

But when Lord Alexander Savage comes after Ash, the legends are suddenly way too real. Savage commands an army of monstrous shapechangers called rakshasas, who want only to seize the arrowhead and restore Ravana to power. As they hunt Ash through magnificent fortresses and brutal deserts, he must learn to work with a powerful rakshasa girl named Parvati, and find the strength within himself to fight on no matter what. Because this isn’t just a battle to stop the end of the world. It’s a battle to stop the end of reality as we know it.

No pressure.

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository

EXCERPT:

“Ash Mistry,” Ash said.

“Beautiful, isn’t he?” said Savage. He drew his fingers over the outline of the demon king’s face. “Even with his destruction at hand, defiant to the last.”

“He’s horrific.” Ash wasn’t sure if he was talking about the gruesome frieze or Savage himself.

“You think so? Why?”

“He was the demon king. He threatened the entire world.”

“And the world is such a pleasant place now, is it?”

Ash looked again at the glaring eyes of Ravana. The face seemed alive, a mask of arrogant fury and pure hate. “At least it’s not a hell. That’s what Ravana wanted, a world fit for demons.”

Savage looked at him inquisitively, tapping his walking stick against the flagstone. “Well said, lad, well said.”

A woman broke from the crowd and joined them. Dressed in a white silk sari embroidered with spider webs she towered above Ash like a willowy goddess, but close up he saw that the make-up had been laid on heavy; her face was smooth and rigid from a layer of powder, as lifeless as a mannequin’s, her jet-black hair arranged in eight, curving tresses. The woman’s gaze paused on him and there was a flicker of a condescending smile. Ash saw himself reflected in her big, wrap-around sunglasses. He looked small and insignificant.

“Sir, the board of directors are here,” she said.

“It’s been interesting talking with you,” he said to Ash. “Enjoy the party.” He took the woman’s hand and entered the gathering. But even as the sea of people began to swirl and circle around him, Savage briefly looked back at Ash, his smile locked rigidly in place.

REASON THIS APPEALED TO ME:

When I saw this tour posted the book was recommended for fans of Percy Jackson and I was intrigued. Both of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series are some of my favorite series. I’m interested in mythology but admittedly I don’t know much outside of Greek mythology, and a tiny bit of Norse, so this was a good chance for me to expand on my knowledge and learn more about a culture that I am not around often and know little of. Another thing that I really liked about this was that the author is Indian and that the main characters were Indian as well. I am over a third through the book right now and I am loving it. My review will go up by the end of the week so look for that. But if you’re a fan of Riordan’s or interested in mythology you should definitely check this book out.

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

sarwat chadda 4th nov 2014 grey pic#1

Sarwat Chadda has lived and traveled throughout the world, from China to Guatemala. He’s been lost in Mongolia, abandoned at a volcano in Nicaragua and hidden up a tree from a rhino in Nepal. Not to mention being detained by Homeland Security in the US and chased around Tibet by the Chinese police. Maybe he just has that sort of face.

Anyway, now he’s trying to settle in one place and stay out of trouble. Hence his new career as a writer. It’s safe, indoors and avoids any form of physical danger.

Throughout his travels, Sarwat has soaked up the myths, legends and cultures of far away places. Now, with the Ash Mistry series, he aims to bring these unfamiliar tales of ten-headed demons and blue-skinned heroes back home and put them beside the exploits of Achilles and Thor. His heroes are Prince Rama and the demon-slaying Kali. Isn’t it about time you met them too?

Author Links:

WebsiteTwitterGoodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s