Book Review → Captive

captiveTitle: Captive
Author: Aimee Carter
Series: The Blackcoat Rebellion
Publication Date: November 25th, 2014

Synopsis: For the past two months, Kitty Doe’s life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister’s niece, her frustration grows as her trust in her fake fiancé cracks, her real boyfriend is forbidden and the Blackcoats keep her in the dark more than ever.

But in the midst of discovering that her role in the Hart family may not be as coincidental as she thought, she’s accused of treason and is forced to face her greatest fear: Elsewhere. A prison where no one can escape.

As one shocking revelation leads to the next, Kitty learns the hard way that she can trust no one, not even the people she thought were on her side. With her back against the wall, Kitty wants to believe she’ll do whatever it takes to support the rebellion she believes in—but is she prepared to pay the ultimate price?

Review: I have been waiting on this book since I read the ARC of Pawn last year so when I get an email saying that Captive finally went up on Netgalley I flailed a lot and went to request it. I then flailed some more when I got approved for it. I seriously love this series.

While I really love this series, and thought this book was great, I had a couple of problems with it. One big problem I had was with Kitty. I couldn’t get past the fact that she still couldn’t read. A few months had past from the end of Pawn to the start of Captive and Kitty still has made no move to learn, despite the fact that it keeps her at a disadvantage. She has to rely on other people, and trust that they are telling her the truth. This has come to bite her in the rear several times in this book, and if she had buckled down and learned things might have been a little different for her. While it’s not going to be easy for her, it sounds a little like she has dyslexia, it’s something that would be a huge advantage for her. She’s still a pawn in all of this, and she needs to step up and start taking more control. Especially considering the title of the third book.

My next issue involves a spoiler, I’m going to try to be vague, if you’re one of those people who doesn’t like being spoiled at all you might want to skip this. There is an incident in the first quarter of the book and then in the first half we find out that it was a red herring. My issue is that the incident is never properly explained, we’re told that Kitty couldn’t be in on it because her reaction needed to be genuine but we’re never told how they were able to pull it off. And I really feel like it was poor writing not to do so considering what happened. She didn’t have to go into a lot of depth but a simple page of them talking about it, it would have been an extra paragraph or two in the conversation they were already having, would have gone a long way to making me okay with the incident. As it stands, eh, should have just left out the miraculous event.

Despite those two issues, I really did enjoy the book. I had a hard time putting it down and I did not want it to end. I really liked that Carter wasn’t afraid of doing some awful, bloody, brutal things. I have found that too many authors skip around awful things in YA books, they gloss over them, like teens can’t handle that stuff. But Carter puts it all out there, you really get to see how awful things are.

Character wise I think Knox is my favorite. You never really know whose side he is on, or where he stands. He doesn’t fully trust Kitty, and I really can’t blame him. He doesn’t really know him and she is stubborn, unwilling to listen to him, or go with his plans. She says she will then goes behind his back and does things her way, and those things always go badly. Knox has been in the resistance for years, he’s not just going to let Kitty in on his every plan, especially when she’s not shown that he can trust her. Kitty drives me nuts, for many of the reasons I’ve already mentioned. I get that she’s had her life flipped around and she didn’t ask for any of this, but she flip flops on things at the drop of a dime, is reckless, doesn’t think things through, and I really can’t get over the reading thing. I am just glad that those annoyances haven’t ruined the book for me.

Overall, a really great book, a great follow up to Pawn. I really, really can’t wait for Queen to come out.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Go for it
I received an ARC of this book from Harlequin Teen on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

