Book Review → Silent Night

20765972Title: Silent Night
Author: CJ Kyle
Publication Date: October 28th, 2014

Synopsis: Police Chief Tucker Ambrose hopes it’s just a prank, but his years as a cop in Chicago tell him different. Then a body is discovered in the middle of the woods, staged with a bible, a crucifix, and a rosary . . . and Tucker knows something dark and sinister has arrived in his town.

Miranda Harley knows exactly what’s going on. In fact, she’s been tracking this serial killer, hoping to gather enough evidence to convict him. Trouble is, no one will believe her, not even the sexy police chief whose heated gazes promise nights of sin. But when Miranda falls into the crosshairs of a psychopath, Tucker must put aside his doubts and race to stop the killer from striking again.

Review: I was not too impressed with this book and it reminded me why I have stopped reading thrillers/mysteries. I watch way too many cop shows and I find these types of books way too easy to figure out the plot of and to figure out who the bad guy is. I figured out who the killer was a third of the way through the book and after that there was no excitement to pick up the book and find out what was going to happen next. For me the book seemed to go downhill from there.

I was not really into either of the characters, Tucker and Miranda, and I could have done without the side plot of their romance. I found myself side eyeing Tucker for it, considering that he’s a cop in an investigation that Miranda is involved in more than she should be, then I found myself rooting for them. It was distracting and I felt that it took away from the story. I would have liked things to concentrate more on solving the crime, which I would have liked to have been more complex, and harder to figure out.

There was a slight twist at the end but to be honest, that wasn’t even enough to make the book interesting or throw enough of ‘wow I did NOT see that coming’ into it. Sadly this just wasn’t the book for me.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Go for it
I received an ARC of this book from Avon Books on Edelweiss. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

