Banned Book Week – Day 1

BBW14_CoverArt_op2

Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read, September 21-27, 2014

Hello guys! This week is banned book week and I decided last minute I wanted to do something on my blog. I have decided each week I will highlight a banned book that I have read and one that I plan to read. If I had more time I would have read them before hand and given you a review. Next year! Don’t forget to check out the ALA’s website for more information about banned books and banned book week!

Banned Book I’ve Read:

99561 Title: Looking for Alaska
Author: John Green
Publisher: Speak
Published: December 28th, 2006

Synopsis: Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (FranΓ§ois Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

Why the book was banned: Looking for Alaska is most often banned for the oral sex scene that is in the book.

Banned Book I Plan to Read:

575754Title: Neverwhere
Author: Neil Gaiman
Publisher: BBC Books
Published: September 16, 1996

Synopsis: Under the streets of London there’s a place most people could never even dream of. A city of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet. This is the city of the people who have fallen between the cracks.

Richard Mayhew, a young businessman, is going to find out more than enough about this other London. A single act of kindness catapults him out of his workday existence and into a world that is at once eerily familiar and utterly bizarre. And a strange destiny awaits him down here, beneath his native city: neverwhere.


Why the book was banned: Neverwhere was banned because of a small passage showing a couple groping each other while making out and using the f word three times.



11 thoughts on “Banned Book Week – Day 1

  1. Blackandlime says:

    I didn’t know Looking for Alaska was banned I know since this was last minute you didn’t have time but it’d be cool if next time you mentioned why the book was banned great idea though to do something for the week!

    Like

      • Blackandlime says:

        Your welcome even as a last minute idea it’s still a pretty good one, especially the part where you choose another banned book you want to read!

        Like

      • Denise says:

        I would have liked to have read them ahead of time and posted a review of that book this week but I just won’t have time to do that. So I’m going to have to schedule a time in the next month or two to get those done. πŸ˜€ Next year though, I hope to be able to do that, or do something to get other people involved and reading banned books.

        Like

      • Blackandlime says:

        I lot more things would get done if we just had more time but I still think it’s great that you’re even doing this much, as of right now no other blogs I follow are doing any banned book week related posts so cheers to you!

        Like

      • Blackandlime says:

        It really is surprising you’d think the blogging community would be buzzing about banned book week but I haven’t heard a peep except for seeing a poster at my library and this post

        Like

Leave a Reply

