Book Review → The Vault of Dreamers

the vault of dreamersTitle: The Vault of Dreamers
Author: Caragh M. O’Brien
Series: ? (will update)
Publication Date: September 16th, 2014

Synopsis: The Forge School is the most prestigious arts school in the country. The secret to its success: every moment of the students’ lives is televised as part of the insanely popular Forge Show, and the students’ schedule includes twelve hours of induced sleep meant to enhance creativity. But when first year student Rosie Sinclair skips her sleeping pill, she discovers there is something off about Forge. In fact, she suspects that there are sinister things going on deep below the reaches of the cameras in the school. What’s worse is, she starts to notice that the edges of her consciousness do not feel quite right. And soon, she unearths the ghastly secret that the Forge School is hiding—and what it truly means to dream there.

Review: I finished this book a few weeks ago and I have been having trouble trying to find the words to write this review without spoiling anyone for the book. I really enjoyed it while I was reading it, I think the ‘mystery’ of it was a little too easy to figure out. (Because I thought that I thought maybe I was wrong and that something else was going on, let’s just say I was disappointed to find out my original thought of what was going on to be correct.)

I did not really like any of the characters, for me I did not feel there was enough to get me to like them, but again I did not really hate anyone either. The relationship between Rosie and the kitchen boy (I do not remember his name oops) really felt odd to me, it happened way too quickly for me to be onboard with it. I was not crazy about any of the characters, which makes me a little sad.

I really felt that O’Brien had a unique idea I just wish she had made it a little harder to figure out what was going on and had made things a little more complex and deeper. I enjoyed the book while I was reading it, sadly it was forgettable and has not stayed with me.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Borrow it
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

