Book Review → Cursed Moon

18482271Title: Cursed Moon
Author: Jaye Wells
Series: The Prospero’s War
Publication Date: August 12th, 2014

Synopsis: When a rare Blue Moon upsets the magical balance in the city, Detective Kate Prospero and her Magical Enforcement colleagues pitch in to help Babylon PD keep the peace. Between potions going haywire and everyone’s emotions running high, every cop in the city is on edge. But the moon’s impact is especially strong for Kate who’s wrestling with guilt over falling off the magic wagon.

After a rogue wizard steals dangerous potions from the local covens, Kate worries their suspect is building a dirty magic bomb. Her team must find the anarchist rogue before the covens catch him, and make sure they defuse the bomb before the Blue Moon deadline. Failure is never an option, but success will require Kate to come clean about her secrets.

Review: Something I really loved about Cursed Moon was the gritty writing, which tends to be Wells’ writing style overall. Also her books are very unapologetically real, they are what they are, and there is not a damn thing they are ashamed about.

I have loved Kate since Dirty Magic, I do have some problems with her but she’s a flawed character and that only makes me like her more. My biggest issue with her is that she is very judgemental, and considering the things she does and mistakes she has made she really has no place casting judgement on anyone. Despite that Kate is a really hard character not to like. She is human, she is a woman who is not even 30, and raising her 16 year old brother. She has been for the last ten years, she does the best that she can, and she does not always think that it is good enough. She’s prideful, has a hard time letting people in, a hard time trusting people, and she makes mistakes.

Another thing I loved about this book, and really Urban Fantasy as a whole, is that it is so much more focused on the characters and the plot than romance. (Do not get me wrong, I love a good romance, but in fantasy I tend to want more plot, character development, and world building with romance being a side plot.) While I ship Kate and Morales like there is no tomorrow, there is not really any romance in this book. There is a lot of sexual tension and undertones in this book but the book is definitely more plot driven than anything.

The only issues I have with the world that Wells has built with this series is the stuff with magic being compared to illegal drugs and addicts. I am not sure if she was trying to allude to that or not. But I wish we had gotten a little more explanation on the effects magic have on users, why it’s essentially like cocaine and meth, is clean magic safer than dirty magic? Is all magic bad? The entire time I was reading the book I kept frowning at the addict stuff, it was slightly not believable to me. I think if I understood it a little better I would not have a problem with it.

Overall, I really am enjoying this series. I pretty much read this book in two days, and I look forward to the next one in the series.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes, definitely!

Leave a Reply

