Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

tuesdaypost2

Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read


15745753Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

I have read two books by Rowell and I did not really enjoy either of them. One was a DNF and the other was a three star rating. I was excited to read this book, I had heard a lot of great things about it but after reading Fangirl, I am nervous to read this one. I think Rowell just might not be the author for me.



11235712Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I am not a huge fan of retellings, I haven’t yet read one I like but then again I have only read a couple. I do have a few more to read to see if this is a genre I like or not. With this book though, it’s really hyped up in the book community, and I can’t help but be leery of it. I have not ruled this one out but I am not in a rush to read it.



18710190Allegiant by Veronica Roth

On one hand I want to finish this series and put it to rest. On the other hand, I was spoiled for the end of the book and I just can’t bring myself to read it. I loved Divergent, but I was meh about Insurgent and with the spoiler in this one. EH. Maybe. One day.



13449693The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I have started this one and I am about 20% into it but I am having a hard time continuing on in it. I am not liking any of the characters and things are going really slow. I plan to finish it but it’s not a priority for me.





16101168Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

I DNF’d Anna and the French Kiss, I did not like either character and that has me leery to read either of the other books in the series.





13138635These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner

This is one I really would like to read, but it’s science fiction and that’s a genre I have had a lot of problems with in the past. I am still up in the air on whether or not I want to give it a shot. I likely will, we’ll just have to see how it goes.



15839976Red Rising by Pierce Brown

I received an ARC of this one and attempted it shortly after I received it but wasn’t able to make it past the first few chapters. I want to give it another shot, sadly it suffers from being in a genre I am not that fond of.





12216302Cold Days by Jim Butcher

This one scares me a bit. The series is getting up there in books and I have not had a good record with series with a lot of books. I am so afraid this one is going to keep going long past the time when it should have ended and the books will start to suck, and I will no longer like the series.



12680907Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

I guess I am suffering from the sequel syndrome with this one as well. I loved Graceling and Fire, Fire was my favorite, but I haven’t really had an inclination to read this book.





10756656Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

I have heard good and bad things about this series but nothing has made me go ‘I HAVE to read it’ so I haven’t really been in any hurry to read this one.





17910135Lockstep by Karl Schroeder

This is another one that falls under the ‘but it’s a scifi’ problem. I started this one, it sounds really good, but I read the first chapter and went ‘what?’, there was a lot of gargan I didn’t understand and it was off-putting.




Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The The Broke and Bookish.

9 thoughts on “Social Post → Top Ten Tuesday

  1. K.L. Phelps says:

    I’ve only read Cinder and Under The Never Sky. I really enjoyed Cinder more than I thought I would. Definitely a unique retelling. Under The Never Sky was enjoyable, but I had a few issues with it. I’ll be reading the next books in both series, but not exactly sure when. My TBR list is just too dang big.

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I heard Under the Never Sky was slow, so while I want to read it, it’s made me a little hesitant. It’s still on my TBR list just no clue when I will get to it.

      Like

  2. Jillyn says:

    The only one of these I’ve read is Cinder, and I really liked it. But then again, I love retellings, even though I’ve read a lot of mediocre ones. I also liked book two, Scarlet, but haven’t read Cress yet.

    Like

    • Denise says:

      Everyone keeps telling me to read Cinder and I might. I have a couple of ARCs that are re-tellings so I think I am going to try those first and see how I do. It could just be a genre that isn’t for me.

      Like

      • Jillyn says:

        Fair enough. I’ve read more than a fair share that I didn’t like, and I wasn’t sure that I’d like Cinder either.

        Like

  3. Bookworm84 says:

    I was really hesitant with Cinder. I saw it so many times in the bookstore but didn’t buy it because I didn’t think it’d be my thing. One day I decided to put it on hold at the library figuring if I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t have lost anything because of it. Let me tell you, I devoured this book, Scarlet and Cress and I can’t wait for the next book. The series definitely has it’s issues but it will remain one of my favourite series. You should check it out and give it a go if you can.

    Under the Never Sky I’m iffy with. I read the first one. I liked it enough. It’s a little drawn out in parts but I will likely check out the rest in the series (although I’m not in a rush to do so).

    If you didn’t like Anna and the French Kiss, I would skip Lola and the Boy Next Door. I found Lola irritating. I’m almost afraid to check out the next book in the series.

    Eleanor & Park….I have tried so many times to read this book and I can’t. I don’t get the hype. I also tried Fangirl and didn’t like it and didn’t finish it. Rowell isn’t the author for me but I know tons of people who loved every single one of her books!

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I am not ruling Cinder out, I am going to read the retellings ARCs I have and see if it is a genre thing.

      My issue with Anna and the French Kiss was mostly Anna and Etienne, the drove me nuts. I might give it a shot just to see.

      I finished Fangirl but didn’t enjoy the fanfic parts of it. I DNF’d Attachments, I found the male to be creepy and stalkerish.

      Like

  4. Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure says:

    Eleanor & Park is one of my favorite books, but it’s the only Rainbow Rowell book I’ve read. I’m not sure how it compares to the others. I don’t read that many either, but Cinder is definitely a good one. You should definitely give Lola a shot. Quite a few people liked them more than the ones in Anna.

    I liked Under the Never Sky, but it wasn’t a memorable one for me. If you’re not a fan of The Raven Boys 20 percent in, I’m not sure you’ll be a much bigger fan of it by the end. I’ve actually read some of Bitterblue (I returned it to my library like I usually do with books I borrow) and personally, I didn’t like Bitterblue as much as Fire and Katsa.

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I own E&P so I do plan to read it at some point, I’m just not in a rush to do so. Same with Cinder, I don’t own it but a lot of friends who have similar tastes have like it so I plan to read it. I have some ARCs of retellings that I plan to read first.

      I am skeptical of the others though. I might give Lola a shot with the knowledge that if I don’t like it, then there’s no need to try and finish it.

      With The Raven Boys isn’t not that I’m not interested, I’m interested in the story and such, I just don’t feel anything for any of the characters. I like Blue a little but that’s it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

