Book Review → Take Me On

18333898Title: Take Me On
Author: Katie McGarry
Series: Pushing the Limits
Publication Date: May 27th, 2014

Synopsis: Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can’t stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it’s his fault his family is falling apart. He can’t change the past, but maybe he can change Haley’s future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they’ll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

Review: I really enjoyed this book. Katie McGarry has written yet another entertaining and enjoyable story. I put this book down only once to sleep and finished it the next time I picked it up. I had a hard time putting it down, it was just that good. This story runs concurrent with the ending of Crash Into You so I do suggest reading that one before this one, but for the most part this is a standalone.

At first I had a hard time liking West. We saw him in Crash Into You and I wasn’t a fan of his then. I didn’t like the way he treated his sister and in this one that wasn’t any different. I slowly came around to liking him, still not a huge fan of his, but he slowly started to redeem himself and if we seem him later books I definitely think I could come around to liking him.

I did like Haley from the beginning. She is smart, doesn’t take shit from West, and despite what she is going through she is a strong, caring person. She puts her family first and tries to help them out the best that she can. Plus she’s a kick boxer. I think that’s one of my favorite things about her. She’s in a sport that is male dominated, she thrives and for the most part doesn’t care what people think about her. Not only does she participate, she succeeds and is a national title holder.

One thing I really, really loved about this book was the amount of Abby we got. Abby is one of my favorite characters, I’ve liked her from the first moment we were introduced to her and I would love for her to get her own book. Another thing about these books that I like is Mrs. Collins, she genuinely cares about students and is the type of person that teens and schools need to have.

The Pushing the Limits series is one of my favorites and one that I think people need to definitely check out. Take Me On is a great addition to an already great series.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: YES, read the whole series
I received an ARC of this book from Harlequin Teen on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

