Book Review → Solving for Ex

18207105Title: Solving for Ex
Author: LeighAnn Kopans
Publication Date: February 11th, 2014

Synopsis: 1 crush on your best friend +
1 gorgeous, scheming new girl +
1 Mathletics competition =
1 big mess

SIMPLIFY.

Ashley Price doesn’t have much in life after being bullied so hard she had to leave her old school to live with her aunt and uncle in Pittsburgh. But the camera she borrowed from her best friend and secret crush Brendan, and her off the charts math abilities, make things a lot more bearable. Plus, since Brendan is the captain, making the school Mathletes team should be easy.

But when gorgeous new girl Sofia rolls in and steals Brendan, Ashley’s place on the team, and her fragile foothold on the Mansfield Park Prep social totem pole, it’s on. Sofia is everything Ashley left her old school to escape. The only thing Ashley didn’t count on is Sofia’s sexy twin brother Vincent.

Vincent is not only the hottest boy in school, he’s charming, sweet, and he’s got his eye on Ashley. He’s also not taking no for an answer. There’s no real reason Ashley shouldn’t like Vincent, but with the battle lines being drawn between her and Sofia, Ashley’s not sure which side he’s on. Or which side she wants him to be on.

She does know Sofia is trouble with a capital T, and she’s determined to make Brendan see it.

Review: After I read this book I wrote an initial review then I sat on it a few weeks while I spent some more time speculating over the book and trying to sort out my feelings on it. I really did enjoy reading this book. There were parts that I felt were underwhelming and left me wanting more but there really a lot of really good parts. I think LeighAnn Kopans did a good job showing the varying stages of someone with depression and the struggles that are faced.

That being said I didn’t form and strong attachments or feelings for any of the characters. I disliked that the two sets of main characters were set up as good vs evil and that girl vs girl over boy was a trope that was used. Ashley and Brendan for the most part were enjoyable characters, but I got a bad feeling about Sofia and Vincent from the beginning, more him than her. Vincent definitely set off my creep radar and didn’t get better upon time.

I found a lot of the book to be predictable, Sofia and Vincent turning out to be bad, Ashley and Brendan ending up together, among the biggest things. I did think that it was nice that Ashley got her happy ending but I had really hoped that she would find a guy who saw her from the start and not the one who saw her only after someone else had and when he was going to lose her. I also strongly disliked that the author set Ashley and Sofia against each other over a boy, while girls sometimes do compete over boys I, personally, feel that this is an overdone trope and it bothers me to see females bringing each other down over a male. At the end of the book I was left a little wanting.

This is definitely one of the best self published books I’ve ever read. I definitely look forward to reading more from this author. This was a pretty quick and enjoyable read, and think that others should give it a shot. (The little notes at the end of some of the chapters were confusing and distracting. It was hard to know who she was sharing those with. Adding the name or first letter of each person’s name, or even mentioning the other person’s name would have gone a long way to helping make them easier to read.)

Stars: ★★★ (3.5)
Recommendation: Borrow it
I want to thank LeighAnn for giving me a copy of this book as a gift.

Leave a Reply

