Book Review → Falling For Her Fiance

17209607Title: Falling for Her Fiance
Author: Cindi Madsen
Series: Accidentally in Love
Publication Date: December 19th, 2013

Synopsis: Danielle and Wes have been best friends since college, so when Wes needs a date for his sister’s wedding and Dani needs a partner for her company’s retreat, they devise the perfect plan: a fake engagement to get through both events unscathed. Adrenaline-junkie Wes can prove to both his ex and his family that he’s well and truly moved on, and serious-minded Dani can prove to her boss that she’s worthy of the promotion he seems to only want to give to a family-oriented employee.

But amid the fake swoons, fake kisses, and forced proximity, neither expects the very real feelings that develop. There’s nothing more dangerous than falling for your best friend…but what if the landing is worth the fall?

Review: Overall I really enjoyed the book. Dani and Wes have really good chemistry and while I was originally skeptical about the fake engagement plot, it’s an overdone trope, it ended up not bugging me as much as I thought it would. Dan and Wes, while a little too perfect, were enjoyable characters and I am glad that they got their happy ending.

Two things bugged me.

1. I thought it ended way too soon. No epilogue or anything. It is part of a series but I assume the next book will focus on a different couple. I’m not a fan of epilogues but I really wanted to know more of what happened with Wes and Dani. I could have used a little more wrap up.

2. Dani’s name bugged me. While I greatly appreciated a main character that was not white it would have been nice for the author to get the naming traditions of people from Spanish speaking countries correct. She even had the character say ‘this is how we do it in Mexico’ referring to the incorrect method that she used. In the story Dani’s name is Danielle Caridad Morales Vega. She mentions that she has two middle names and in Spanish naming traditions that is wrong. They have one first name, then a second name (middle name), and lastly they have two surnames (not called last names). A quick google search brought me to this link which explains the usage of two surnames in Spanish speaking countries. The order of them is the Father’s surname first, then the mother’s surname last. Since Danielle’s mother’s surname is Morales her name actually should have been Danielle Caridad Vega Morales. This mistake, while simple to some, bothered me a lot. I stopped for twenty minutes and ranted to my friend, who has Spanish heritage, then on twitter as well. Every time I saw her name I thought of it and cringed, it definitely took away from the story for me.

Despite those things this was a cute book and an enjoyable read. The friends to lovers/couple trope is one of my absolute favorites and I think it was done really well in this book.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Give it a shot, especially if you can overlook the above.

Leave a Reply

