Blog Birthday Giveaway + Interview and Bonus Scene

Hello everyone! I created this blog a year ago this month, and while I’ve only been actively using it for about 9 months, it’s still a year old. It’s hard for me to believe that I have been blogging for a year now! In honor of that I am doing a giveaway for a Kindle edition of The Art of Falling by Jenny Kaczorowski. In addition to the giveaway Jenny was kind enough to do a small interview and to give me a bonus scene from the book to share with ya’ll. This is one of my favorite books and I hope that ya’ll will enjoy it as much as I did.

18619662

For seventeen-year-old Bria Hale, image is everything. She’s a militant vegan with purple hair, Doc Martens and a permanent scowl. Kissing captain of the football team Ben Harris? Definitely not part of that image.

Now with each secret kiss, she’s falling deeper for the boy every girl at Oceanside High is crushing on. Throw in a few forbidden bacon cheeseburgers and she’s facing one major identity crisis.

Ignoring Ben should be easy, but when a flashy display of artistic spirit lands her in close quarters after hours with the boy she’s too cool to like, she can’t keep pretending those kisses meant nothing. With her reputation and her heart on a collision course, Bria must either be true to herself or to the persona she’s spent all of high school creating.

INTERVIEW:

What is your current favorite book and what about it makes you love it so much?

This is the hardest question in the world for me! There are probably a dozen different books I could list here, but I’ll stick to the first one to come to mind: STARRY NIGHTS by Daisy Whitney. I picked it up because the lover is so lovely and it stuck with me because the story is too. I love art, so all the bits of art history and the museum setting resonated with me. Funny enough, I didn’t love France when I visited in high school, but this book sure made me fall in love with Paris anyway. It’s sweet & dreamy & just a little bit strange, just as young love should be.

Is there a question you’ve ever wished someone had asked but never been asked? (Don’t forget to tell us the answer!)

I always expect people to ask if I was like Bria in high school. I draw a lot on my own experiences and there’s bits of me in every character I write, but I think I was most like Dolores in high school – the voice of reason and always a little too cautious to do anything too crazy, like paint over a mural.

I love The Art of Falling and I know on Twitter you’ve mentioned two more books in this world, can you tell us anything about them?

Nothing is definite yet, but I’ve finished writing a second book set at Oceanside High that picks up after FALLING ends. It’s about Summer O’Neill, a skater who moved to Oceanside after getting a DUI. She meets Sebastian Vega (who made a couple brief appearances in FALLING), a photographer with a life-altering bleeding disorder. While she tries to forget her past mistakes and he tries to find a future beyond his health issues, they both must learn to live in the moment.

I’m also working on a third book, which features Abby, Bria’s best friend in her very own love story. It’s still very much a work in progress, but I can tell you this: what starts as a no-strings-attached kiss on New Years Eve ends with Abby falling for a boy she’d never given a second look.

What is your favorite thing about The Art of Falling? Anything you wanted your readers to take away from it?

I love the friendships in FALLING. I didn’t really date in high school, so my friends were everything. I wanted to capture some of that special magic and there are definitely moments when I think I did. There’s a conversation between Bria & Abby that captured that for me:

“How do you know if something is worth the risks? How do you put yourself out there if it could all go horribly wrong?”
“You wait until you know you can’t live without trying.”
“You make that sound all dire.”
“Isn’t it? Life is serious shit.”

I loved writing that moment and apparently readers like it too.

I want readers to take away the courage to always be themselves and to give themselves permission to change. Just because you’re who you are today doesn’t mean you’re stuck there.

Tell us something random about you.

I don’t actually like Skittles. In FALLING, Ben is a Skittles addict, but I don’t like candy that sweet. I prefer very dark chocolate (over 80% is best) or something savory like a good sharp cheddar cheese.

BONUS SCENE:

“Pumpkin Pie?” Dad tapped on her door. “Are you girls sleeping in?”

Bria groaned and lifted her head up from her pillow. It pounded from the effort, shooting daggers through her eyes.

“What time is it?” she said. Her voice cracked in her dry throat.

“Almost 9 A.M.”

“Ugh.” She picked up her watch to confirm. “Give me twenty.”

“Can’t believe you’re getting up for church,” Abby said, face still smooshed against her pillow and a puddle of drool trickling from her mouth.

At the foot of the bed, Dolores stirred. “Can I come?”

“If you can get up,” Bria said, swinging her legs over the side.

Abby grabbed the vacated pillow and pulled it over her head. “Both crazy.”

Bria stood in front if her dresser, fighting the fog to pick something to wear.

The solid black wardrobe helped. She grabbed her usual body armor: a camisole, a long sleeved shirt, a skirt and tights. Layer upon layer to keep the world from touching her. Her hoodie waited beside the door and with the addition of Rafael’s jacket, nothing could reach her.

“Can I borrow something?” Dolores said. “Wasn’t really thinking about church when I packed to stay over.”

“Help yourself.”

Bria pulled out her toothbrush, grabbing a spare for Dolores.

“Dude,” Dolores said, barely controlling her giggles.

“You should talk.” A glance in the mirror confirmed she looked as hung over as she felt. Rat’s nest hair, shadowed eyes. Smears of melting eyeliner and mascara on pale cheeks.

“I’m sure Raf would love waking up to this,” she said.

Dolores paused her brushing.

The implications of her own words stopped Bria too. “Whoa.”

“You’re thinking about waking up with him,” Dolores said. “That’s like…”

“I don’t know where that came from.” Bria sat down on the edge of the tub. “I mean, of course I’ve thought about it.”

“But that was like the first thing in your head.”

“Right.” She met Dolores’s eyes in the mirror. “What does that mean?”

Dolores lifted one shoulder. “I think you have to figure that out.”

“I have to break up with him.”

“Why?”

“What do you mean why?”

Dolores turned around and leaned back against the sink. “Do you want to break up with him because you don’t like him or because you’re scared you do?”

“I don’t know. Both?”

Dolores took both her hands in hers. “This isn’t about Ben, is it?”

Bria’s cheeks burned. “I don’t know.”

“Don’t tell me you’re thinking about forgiving him.”

“There’s a big difference between forgiving him and getting over him.”

“What is going on in your head?”

“It’s not my head that’s messing me up.”

ABOUT JENNY:

headshot

Raised in Avon, Ohio, the duct tape capital of the world, Jenny began her writing career as a featured columnist for her hometown newspaper. After earning a degree in photojournalism from Kent State University, she vowed to never spend another winter in Ohio and moved to Los Angeles, where there is far too much sunshine.

Amid working as a grant writer for Sound Art, a non-profit that teaches music in inner-city neighborhoods, and raising two kids, Jenny decided to do something with all the snippets of stories she wrote during microeconomics and began writing for young adults. She likes her heroines smart and quirky, her heroes nice, and her kisses sweet. Her debut young adult romance, THE ART OF FALLING (Bloomsbury Spark), is available now.

Apart from writing, Jenny is still an avid photographer, loves music despite no discernable musical talent and reads the dictionary for fun. She lives near Los Angeles with her husband, son and daughter. The four of them are always looking for their adventure.

WebsiteBlogFacebookTwitter

GIVEAWAY:

I am giving away one KINDLE Edition of The Art of Falling. It’s open to anyone who can receive Kindle books. I will verify the winning entries so make sure you’re completing tasks if you want to win. Winner will have 48 hours to reply to my email or a new winner will be picked.

giveaway

Click the image to go to the rafflecopter widget.

2 thoughts on “Blog Birthday Giveaway + Interview and Bonus Scene

Leave a Reply

