Book Review → The Runaway King

15703770Title: The Runaway King
Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen
Series: The Ascendance Trilogy
Publication Date: March 1st, 2013

Synopsis: Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom?

Review: I think I will keep this one short, a lot happens in this one and I really don’t want to spoil anything. I loved this book, it was just as good as the first one. Jaron is such an amazingly complex and well written character. He is definitely the best party of this series. The Runaway King brings some new characters as well gives us back some old ones. This one was pretty much action packed from the moment it started to the cliffhanger ending. I had a hard time putting it down but I did once to sleep. I will admit I was worried this book would not live up to The False Prince but it definitely did. I am going to be sad for the end of Jaron’s story in The Shadow Throne. Jennifer Nielsen has created such an amazing series.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Yes, this is one of my favorite series

2 thoughts on “Book Review → The Runaway King

  1. Ren says:

    That sounds promising, especially the action packed part! I’ve been holding off in case this series suffered from disappointing sequel syndrome, but it seems I might have to bump The False Prince up in my list of books to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

