Book Review → Archetype

18079523Title: Archetype
Author: MD Waters
Series: Archetype
Publication Date: February 6th, 2014

Synopsis: Emma wakes in a hospital, with no memory of what came before. Her husband, Declan, a powerful, seductive man, provides her with new memories, but her dreams contradict his stories, showing her a past life she can’t believe possible: memories of war, of a camp where girls are trained to be wives, of love for another man. Something inside her tells her not to speak of this, but she does not know why. She only knows she is at war with herself.

Suppressing those dreams during daylight hours, Emma lets Declan mold her into a happily married woman and begins to fall in love with him. But the day Noah stands before her, the line between her reality and dreams shatters.

In a future where women are a rare commodity, Emma fights for freedom but is held captive by the love of two men—one her husband, the other her worst enemy. If only she could remember which is which. . . .

Review: I’ve been in a reading slump, I’ve been reading a lot of contemporary romances, and I needed a good fantasy/science fiction book to balance that out. This one definitely fit the bill and just what I needed. (Though I might have a slight book hangover from this one.)

The synopsis of Archetype intrigued me so I requested an advanced copy on Netgalley, though I was slightly concerned with “In a future where women are a rare commodity”. I was worried that it would be a poorly written trope about how women are treated as property but that was not the case. MD Waters did really well with this trope, it’s well written, well explained, and well thought out. I was hooked on this novel from the first page. I read the book in one sitting, I tried to put it down several times but I had to keep going. I had to know what was going to happen and dying to see what happened next.

This novel exceeded all of my expectations and blew me out of the water. I love, love, love Emma. She wakes up in a hospital with no memory. She is told that she had an accident and the man with her is her husband. She struggles to get better so that she can go home, but more than that, she struggles to find herself, to figure out who she is, if she is the woman she is told to be or the woman she sees in her dreams. (If you’re worried about the love triangle mentioned in the synopsis, I don’t think you should. It was a non-issue for me. It’s not the type of love triangle you normally see.)

Archetype is an excellent mix of science fiction, suspense, and mystery with a helping of romance thrown in. Archetype kept me fully engaged in the story, entertained, and constantly on my toes trying to figure out what was going on. the range of emotions i had while reading this is truly amazing and MD Water definitely has a great novel with this one. I definitely cannot wait for Prototype to come out. I do not want to see this series end.

Stars: ★★★★★
Recommendation: Definitely!!
I received an ARC of this book from Penguin Dutton Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

Leave a Reply

