Currently Reading → Red Rising

currentlyreading7

Currently Reading → Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Darrow is a miner and a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he digs all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of the planet livable for future generations. Darrow has never seen the sky.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better future for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow and Reds like him are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow joins a resistance group in order to infiltrate the ruling class and destroy society from within. He will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.

This is one I received on Netgalley. It’s started out slow for me, the writing is weird, and was a little hard to follow. Also you’re immediately dumped into this world with very little information or introduction, I know this works okay for some people, but for me, not so much. It has started to pick up, I am about 12% into the book. I’m hoping that it keeps holding my attention, or grabs it better than it has. I haven’t read at all today and I haven’t felt that need to read or to find out what is going to happen. I’m not giving up on this one yet.

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading → Red Rising

    • Denise says:

      I think part of this one might be because it’s more sci-fi than I thought it would be and sci-fi’s not a genre I read a lot of. I’m hoping to be able to read tonight, I didn’t have time yesterday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

