Book Review → Heartbeat

17258743Title: Heartbeat
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Publication Date: January 28th, 2014
Synopsis: Life. Death. And…Love?

Emma would give anything to talk to her mother one last time. Tell her about her slipping grades, her anger with her stepfather, and the boy with the bad reputation who might be the only one Emma can be herself with.

But Emma can’t tell her mother anything. Because her mother is brain-dead and being kept alive by machines for the baby growing inside her.

Meeting bad-boy Caleb Harrison wouldn’t have interested Old Emma. But New Emma-the one who exists in a fog of grief, who no longer cares about school, whose only social outlet is her best friend Olivia-New Emma is startled by the connection she and Caleb forge.

Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death-and maybe, for love?

Review: I’m a little torn with this book. It’s not a bad book but it’s not a great book either. I admit I did find Emma a little annoying, it wasn’t clear at first that her mother had only been dead for a month, I thought she had been gone a bit longer than that. If the reader had known that a bit sooner I think a bit of Emma’s attitude could have been better forgiven. When I really started to get annoyed with her I stopped, and considered how I would feel in her situation. And remembered how I was when I was 17 and honestly, I don’t know that I would have reacted that differently from her. Emma is 17, her mother has just died, her father died when she was little. All she has left is her step-father who she believes chose ‘his baby’ over her. He never talked to her about the decision, nor asked what she thought and she acted out. You can tell that previous to these events they had been a close family and it hurt Emma not to be asked.

As for the story, I felt the writing was slightly choppy, it didn’t flow that great all the time. Also I felt the story wrapped up a little too quickly, and the romance not developed enough to my liking. However, I think Elizabeth Scott wrote a good book on a ‘hot topic’. It’s one that it is easy for people to sit back and say what they’d do without actually considering the people who are going through it. Overall it’s a good book, I enjoyed reading it, and Harlequin Teen was right, you definitely do need kleenex when reading it.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Yes, borrow it
I received an ARC of this book on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

5 thoughts on “Book Review → Heartbeat

  1. Aimee says:

    Most of my blogger/GR friends have given this 3-4 stars and I’m getting really curious about it! I’m a bit nervous of the writing style now, but I do still think I’ll pick this up when it comes out. Oh, and your blog header’s lovely. ❤

    Like

  2. Meredith @ Pandora's Books says:

    I have an ARC of this, too, and I’m really torn about starting it.. I’ve heard both amazing things and terrible things. Lots of 3 stars. I get what you’re saying about her mind-set as a 17-year-old, and I’ll definitely keep that in mind when I read!

    Great review!

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I didn’t dislike the book, I really did enjoy reading it, but I just had some problems with it. I recommend giving it a shot, but you definitely are going to want Kleenex nearby! 😀

      Thanks. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

