Social Post → Feature Follow

featuredblogger
Hello everyone! I am this week’s Feature Follow over at Parajunkee‘s blog!

When did you start blogging? I started blogging in March of 2013. I had to take a big break during the summer and fall for medical issues and I’ve only been back in the swing of blogging the last couple of months.

What is your favorite part of book blogging? Well I do enjoy getting advanced copies of books but I also have met a lot of great people and have made some great new friends. Pretty much everyone that I met is truly amazing, kind and helpful and they definitely make blogging more fun.

What type of books do you mainly blog about? I read a lot of fantasy, urban and high, as well as a lot of contemporary romance. I don’t stick to just YA or Adult, I enjoy both. I pretty much enjoy all types of books but fantasy is definitely my go to ‘cheer me up’ genre.

What is your favorite book(s)? I have a ton, but one of my absolutely favorite series is The Hollow series by Kim Harrison. The Undead Pool, the 12th book in the series, comes out in February. I’m incredibly excited about it and I’m sure I’ve mentioned it at least five times already this year on my blog!

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging? Just this last week I finally got up the nerve to request some books over at Edelweiss, I’ve mainly just stuck to Netgalley, well I got approved for my first book a few days ago and I was really excited! I’ve also made some great friendships with authors and they now send me advanced copies of their books.

Resolutions: Put together your blogger resolution list for all of us to see!

01. I’d like to make regular postings. I get pretty bad at posting some times and I really would like to get in a better habit of posting, even if I have to write posts in advance and schedule them.

02. I’d like to reach a wider and larger audience. I’m not entirely sure how I am going to do this yet but it is something I’d like to do. I think the first thing I’ll do is ask some of my blogger friends what they’ve done and see what will work for me.

03. I’d like to stay on top of my reviews. I am quite a bit behind on my reviews and I’d like not to get farther behind. I have 3-4 I need to type up so that I can post them and I hope to do that within the next few days.

04. I’d like to get a better ‘about me’ page. I’m never sure what to put on these types of posts but I did make up a ‘favorites’ list a few days ago that I’d like to add.

05. I’d like to keep up with my archive posts. I’d like to get in the habit of updating these two posts at least once a week. I need to pick a day of the week and stick to it.

Thank you Alison & Rachel for picking me and doing this awesome feature!

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…
Powered by Linky Tools

58 thoughts on “Social Post → Feature Follow

    • Denise says:

      Thanks for following! I’ll be following back in just a second! I got behind when I got sick last year and I’m still playing catch up. I have a notebook of hand written reviews. None are for ARC’s so I’m not that worried about them but I’d like to get them typed up and posted. Happy Friday to you too! 🙂

      – Denise

      Like

  1. Camille says:

    Congratulations on being featured. I know about what you felt while requesting from Edelweiss and congratulations as well. And thanks for sharing your blogger resolutions. New follower via bloglovin’. 🙂

    Here’s my FF post 🙂

    Like

  2. smgrochowski says:

    It’s so hard to keep up with posts sometimes, isn’t it? I think it’s something even those of us who are super organized struggle with… and those who aren’t organized? Forget about it! 🙂

    Edelweiss and Netgalley have completely changed blogging since I started back in 2007. I’m still excited every time I get approved for something. I feel like they’re saying, “We care what you think! Tell us!” Like most bookworms, I’m always willing to talk books.

    So happy Feature & Follow Friday led me to your blog! Happy reading.

    New follower via Bloglovin’.

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I’ve been doing pretty good so far, it helped that I made a list of posts/features I want to make. I did get behind on doing them ahead of time and scheduling them but I’m hoping this weekend I’ll be able to get back on track. I’ve been trying to be very good and not request too many books from them lately. I still need to get caught up from when I was sick. But it is a nice feeling to get approved from them, especially from the larger publishers!

      Happy Friday, have a good weekend and off to your blog to follow you back! 🙂

      Like

  3. Alison (@AlisonCanRead) says:

    Hopping through. My advice for reaching a wider audience is regularly participating in the large memes – like this one, Top Ten Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, Stacking the Shelves/IMM, etc. You don’t want to do too many of course but that’s how you get people to know you. It’s ideal if you figure out when the meme post goes live so you can get your link listed close to the top. That way more people will visit you. This meme goes live at 9 PM CST Thursday. I know WoW goes live at 12:01 AM CST Wednesday. Hope that helps.
    My FF

    Like

  4. Aimee says:

    Lol! Putting up an about me page is tricky. I don’t know what I can say about myself that will interest other people. :S Also, congrats on the feature and I’m now following you via bloglovin 😉

    My F&F Post

    Like

    • Denise says:

      I never know what to put on about me pages. I’ve read a few of my friends pages to see what sort of things they put on theirs. I need to check out some more and see if I get any more ideas. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! I was doing good with the scheduling them but then I had a couple of busy days and got behind. I hope to use the weekend to catch up! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

    • Denise says:

      Hi! Thanks for commenting. So far I’ve been doing good about remembering when to post. I might look into keeping a calendar, I could easily use google’s and get email notifications days before I need to make certain posts and get them schedule!

      Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! I added some various favorite things recently but I’m not sure what else people want to know. I need to read some more from other bloggers to see what sort of things they put and see if that gives me some ideas. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! I tend to handwrite them, it’s easier than writing them from my tablet, and then I take forever to type them up! Have a good weekend! 🙂

      Like

  5. Cassi says:

    Good resolutions! Good luck with them. I know how hard it can be to keep up with the reviews the more you read.

    New bloglovin and Twitter follower.
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! Yeah I read 200 books last year and only review a handful of them. But I only started blogging around book 100 so. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

    • Denise says:

      Most of the ones I need to post are handwritten and my wrist/fingers have been bothering me lately so I haven’t felt like typing them up. I need to though so I can get them scheduled and posted! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  6. teepee says:

    Yes to REGULAR posts… I want to do that too. But with school and all the other things that occupy my time, I don’t know if I can. And sometimes, I’m not in the mood to write reviews, so I don’t. I’d rather not post than post something I did not feel like writing. It would probably end up crappy and full of errors. That’s one of my blogging goals this year: improve my review skills and write substantial posts.

    We all like to have a larger and wider audience. I also want that, but I’m happy and contented with an enough amount of readers who comment and interact with me. Yes, still the bigger the better.

    Eeeep!! The lack of social skills is also my problem. Yes, I know how to post and tweet, but when someone strikes a conversation, I usually run out of things to say or I don’t know how to verbalize my response.

    Anywhohow, congarts on being featured this week. :)))

    My #FF: Little Librocubicularist

    teepee @ Little Librocubicularist

    Like

    • teepee says:

      Oh my gooosh!! I’ve gotten you mixed up with the other featured blog. Sorry!! That comment is really for you, except for the lack of social skills thingy. Hahahaha.. Sorry! I’m such a mess sometimes.

      Like

      • Denise says:

        That’s okay! 🙂 I wouldn’t say I have a lack of social skills but I do, at times, have a hard time putting my thoughts into words. But I think that comes from my anxiety, bipolar and ADHD. 🙂

        Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! 🙂 A lot of times I hand write my reviews and then plan to type them up later. I think I’ve got 2 or 3 in my notebook that I haven’t gotten around to typing up yet. I really need to do that but I just haven’t found the time yet.

      Like

  7. Kim Graff says:

    Great goals! Congrats on being a feature 🙂
    I hope to be more consistent with blogging too this year. Also, better about commenting. It can be so hard to get on top of those two things, right?

    New bloglovin’ follower 🙂

    Like

    • Denise says:

      Thanks! 🙂 I’m horrible at commenting! Sometimes I don’t really have anything to say other than good post but that’s not real conducive to conversation so I don’t post.

      Like

Comments are closed.