Best Books of 2013 + Giveaway

best books of 2013

I started compiling this list in the middle of November. Since then I changed how I want to order them and added/removed some books from the list. In the end I’ve decided to do a Top 10 list, with 15 runner ups/honorable mentions. The top 10 were all books I rated as five stars, the runner ups were all rated four stars. This is definitely a great list of books.

Best Books of 2013
★★★★★
Top Ten of 2013

11431896 The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

This series is absolutely amazing, at first I was going to select the first book in the series, I really don’t have a favorite, in the end I chose the third book since it was the one released this year. Rae Carson wrote an incredibly amazing series, I’m sad that this one ended, I definitely would love more books. She gave me pretty much every thing I’ve been wanting from a fantasy series and definitely things I feel like we rarely see in YA Fantasy. There’s a very well written and complex female character, not only that but she’s of color I imagined her either Middle Eastern or Indian, the love/story romance is not a main feature and doesn’t over power the rest of the story, and she has AMAZING world building. This is a series that I highly recommend everyone to read. I hope to have proper reviews up after the first of the year.

Ever After Ever After by Kim Harrison

Ever After is the most recent book in The Hollows series, it is book 11 in the series. When I started this series I wasn’t won over by the first book, there were a lot of things I did not like about Rachel but a good friend recommended the series to me and I’ve loved other books/series she has recommended to me so I stuck with this one and read the second book right away. I fell in love and quickly read through the rest of the books. You see such amazing character growth in Rachel as well as the secondary/minor characters. There really isn’t a lot that I do not like about this series, it is what all urban fantasy novels should aspire to be. In Ever After we get to see a lot more of Trent and we get to see a different side of him. If you have any interest in witches, vampires, werewolves, fairies, pixies, elves, and demons then you should definitely check out this series, it has all of those and more. The 12th book in this series comes out February 25th, 2014.

The House of Hades The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

I loved this book so much I’m giving a copy away! I read the first series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, at the suggestion of one of my best friends. At first I wasn’t sure I’d like it, but I gave it a chance because I do love Greek Mythology and I fell in love with it and devoured the first series. I’m loving the second one as well, though there are a few characters I’ve love to see more of [NICO & REYNA] and some I could do with less of. Hades is one of my favorite gods, Poseidon is the other, so I really love any books that deals with him, his realm or his kids. Some of the best things about this one was the amount that Nico was in this book and the fact that, finally, some of the characters are actually having quite a bit of character growth. I can’t wait for the next book in this series and I’m going to be sad when it ends. I hope Rick Riordan does more Greek Mythology books! Remember to look below for the link to the giveaway!

The Indigo Spell The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

I was pretty excited for the Bloodlines series when I heard she was doing it. I loved Rose and the Vampire Academy from her point of view but when Sydney was introduced in the last two books of that series I fell in love with her and wanted more of her. The second series does not disappoint in any single way. The Indigo Spell is the third book in the Bloodlines series and is, so far, my favorite one. We see a lot of excellent character growth of Sydney and many of the other characters. Richelle Mead is a great author and I look forward to reading the rest of this series.

 

Omens Omens by Kelley Armstrong

I’ve only read a few of Kelley Armstrong’s other books but from what I did read I like her writing. I was pretty excited to see that she had a new adult series coming out. I loved it, I love the world that she has created and I cannot wait for the next book. Armstrong created a great urban fantasy/paranormal story and it definitely deserves a spot on my top 10 list for the year. I actually plan on re-reading this one soon.

Pawn Pawn by Aimee Carter

Dystopia is a genre that I have found that I’m not that into. With that in mind, Pawn was AMAZING. It is seriously the best dystopian novel that I have ever read. I was lucky to get an e-ARC from Netgalley and was able to read it before it came out. I absolutely cannot wait for the next book to come out. Some of my favorite things about this book is that there isn’t really a love triangle, a lot of YA books lately are all about the love triangle and I find them annoying. Also, Kitty, the main character, isn’t one of those girls who is kick ass, strong and confident. Kitty is self-conscious, makes mistakes, but she is also brave. It was a nice change to things.

Shadow and Bone Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

This book has been on my TBR list for quite some time. I finally picked up after some blogger friends told me I had to read it now. And I don’t regret it, I regret not reading it sooner because this book was AMAZING. The only thing I didn’t like was the lack of maps/appendix/glossary. That’s something I desperately love having when authors are building their own worlds. For me there is no such as too much information, I often want to know every thing I can about a world so I definitely love those extras. My favorite character is the Darkling and man I wish there was way more of him, I wouldn’t have minded having chapters from his point of view, he’s such an amazing antagonist.

Speak Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

I wish this book had been around when I was 12 years old. I definitely could have used it and I think it would have helped me talk to someone sooner. I definitely think this needs to be a book that all teenagers need to read. Anderson does a good job of bringing the reader into the life of a young teenager girl who has been raped and how it turns her whole world upside down and the struggle she goes through to get her life back on track.

Spy's Honor Spy’s Honor by Amy Raby

I couldn’t put this book down. I was lucky enough to receive this from the author and I loved it. The world that Amy Raby has built is very intriguing and well built. I was enraptured with Rhianne and Janto. They’re very well developed characters and had such great interactions. I can’t wait for the third book in this series, Prince’s Fire, to be released. Amy Raby is definitely an author that people need to keep an eye on.

Written in Red Written in Red by Anne Bishop

This is the first book of Anne Bishop’s that I’ve read and I fell in love with it. She does an amazing job of building the world this story is set in, complete with maps and other information. Meg is a blood prophet and is enslaved so that her visions can be sold. She escapes and runs away to a town that is run by the Others. The Others are supernatural creatures, vampires, weres, elementals and so much more. Bishop shows conflict with the Others and humans, it’s the Others who are really in charge of this world, they just let humans live there as long as they behave. Bishop definitely took me back to a time when supernatural creatures were more like Batman than Tinkerbell and I’m thankful for it.

★★★★
Honorable Mentions

honorablementions
Another Little Piece of My Heart by Tracey Martin
Exit Strategy by Kelley Armstrong
Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead
Game On by Tracy Solheim
Private Practice by Samanthe Beck
Protecting What’s His by Tessa Bailey
Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
Rush Me by Allison Parr
Searching for Someday by Jennifer Probst
The Selection by Kiera Cass
Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin
Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill
Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep
Twilight with the Infamous Earl by Alexandra Hawkins
The Unidentified Redhead by Alice Clayton

GIVEAWAY

I have an extra copy of The House of Hades by Rick Riordan and since it is on my Best Books list I figured this would be a great time to do a giveaway. The dust cover does have a slight tear in it otherwise it is brand new and in great condition. Rules for the giveaway are under “terms and conditions” on the Rafflecopter widget. The giveaway is open to US Residents only. Click on the image below to bring up the rafflecopter widget, it will open in a new window.
the house of hades giveaway

A RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

7 thoughts on “Best Books of 2013 + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

