Book Review → Another Little Piece of My Heart

18336825Title: Another Little Piece of My Heart
Author: Tracey Martin
Publication Date: December 1st 2013

Synopsis: At her dying mother’s request, Claire dumps Jared, the only boy she’s ever loved. Left with a broken family and a broken heart, Claire is furious when she discovers that her biggest regret became Jared’s big break. While Jared is catapulted into rock-star status, another piece of Claire’s heart crumbles every time his song plays on the radio.

The summer after her senior year, it’s been months since the big break-up, and Claire is just trying to keep her head down and make it through a tense trip to the beach with her family. But when Jared shows up, and old feelings reignite, can Claire and Jared let go of the past? Or will they be stuck singing the same old refrain?

Review: With this book I realized that with many YA books it is easy to forget that the characters are teenagers, something I’m not sure is always a good thing. This one definitely does not do that ant it is one of the things I liked best about it. As well as being a romance this book also deals with love, loss, and finding yourself, it’s a well-rounded book. I really enjoyed the variety in characters. I wished there had been more of Kristen, it would have been great to have more interaction with her and Claire, they are best friends after all. I really enjoyed reading it and couldn’t put it down. I also loved that this wasn’t part of a series and is a one shot, I find that too many authors force their books into series when they’d be excellent at one shots.

Stars: ★★★★
Recommendation: Yes, it’s a good book. 🙂
I received an ARC of this book on Netgalley. This in no way affected my review.

One thought on “Book Review → Another Little Piece of My Heart

Leave a Reply

