Book Review → Running Back

18141373Title: Running Back
Author: Allison Parr
Series: New York Leopards
Publication Date: October 21st, 2013

Synopsis: Natalie Sullivan is on the verge of a breakthrough most archaeology grad students only dream of: discovering a lost city. Her research points to a farm in Ireland, but to excavate she needs permission from the new owner: the Michael O’Connor, popular NFL running back.

On TV Mike seems so charming and good-natured that Natalie figures getting his cooperation will be a breeze. So she’s not prepared to deal with the arrogant—and adamantly opposed—man she meets in person. Or the way one look from him sends shivers down her spine…

Determined to kick-start her career, Natalie travels across the Atlantic and finds herself sharing an inn with Mike, who has come to Ireland in search of his roots. She tells herself her interest is strictly professional, but the more she gets to know him, the harder it is to deny her personal attraction to the sexy sports star. And when Mike confides why he refuses to allow the dig, Natalie must decide if she can follow her heart without losing sight of her dreams.

Review: There were things I really disliked, but after reflecting I think they’re more genre related and not this specific book so I’ll save that for another post. There were some small spelling/grammar/editing errors that bugged me. One of the bigger ones pertained to Mike’s deceased family member and how he was related. In the beginning Natalie called him Mike’s great uncle, but he is later mentioned as Mike’s father’s brother, which is just his uncle. Many of the errors were things that an editor should have caught in the editing process. When I started this book I was really excited but I got 85% of the way through it and then found it a struggle to finish it. I didn’t find myself caring about what happened to the characters or the plot. I wasn’t invested in this set of characters like I was the first one. I knew they were going to get their happily ever after and I didn’t really feel like I needed to finish reading the book to know what, it was pretty clear from the way she planned things out. If there is a third one, I’m not sure I’ll be reading it.

Stars: ★★★
Recommendation: Borrow it

Leave a Reply

