Social → Top Ten Thursday → 9/26

ThursdayPost

This was originally meant to be done on Tuesday but I think I’ll do them on Tuesday or Thursday, whichever is more convenient for me to do.

Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

30262 01. The Good, the Bad and the Undead by Kim Harrison.
I’m cheating on this one, it is by far one of my favorite series. However, I do think the sequel and following books are better than the first one. In the first one, Dead Witch Walking, I had a lot of problems with Rachel’s character. One of the things I really like about the later books is her character growth, she becomes an amazing character. I definitely think everyone needs to read this series.


346087 02. Captain’s Fury by Jim Butcher.
I have found that this series is underrated by a lot of people. I picked it up because I loved Butcher’s Dresden Files and wanted to read more books by him. I love this series. It is only six books, I definitely could have read more of it, but it’s just amazing. He has great world building, characterizations and story arcs. This book reminds me a mix of Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings. This is one I recommend to everyone who reads this genre or has read the Dresden Files.


6425 03. Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich.
I love the Stephanie Plum book but there’s a very specific reason I picked this book, Ranger. In Hard Eight there is a lot of Ranger, not to mention the first time that Ranger and Stephanie have sex. Jeanne Ellen Burrows is also in this book, she’s a minor character that I wish we got to see more of and had a bigger role in the books. Did I mention the killer rabbit? Yeah there’s a killer rabbit in this one.


1 04. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling.
When I first read this book I was so heartbroken towards the end of the book that I literally threw my book and it took my friend an hour to convince me to finish it. That aside, I really felt like this was the best book in the series, Harry gets more involved in ending Voldemort instead of just fighting for his life at the end of the school year. The only thing I disliked about this book was the romance stuff with Ginny, it was just so sudden and I felt it came out of nowhere.


1215032 05. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.
When I first went to read this series I had a hard time getting into it. But once I was able to I had a hard time putting down the book. Then I immediately picked up the second book and waiting for the third one is killing me. This is seriously one of the best series I’ve ever read.


4502507 06. The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan.
A few years ago my friend talked me into reading the first book in the series and I didn’t think I’d like it and I was just humoring her. I quickly became obsessed with it and it has helped to get me more interested in Greek Mythology. The Last Olympian is my second favorite in the series, coming in second only to the first book.


6137154 07. Fire by Kristin Cashore.
I know a lot of people didn’t like this book but I loved it. I think it was by far the better of the two, I haven’t read the third one yet. I loved this part of the world, I loved all of the characters, pretty much everything about this one.


8709527 08. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead.
I kind of cheated and put this one on the list, but it is sort of is a sequel. The Bloodline series continues on with the story from the Vampire Academy series, we just get a new main character but we still get a lot of characters from VA. I personally love Sydney’s pov and her as a character.


16172634 09. Faking It by Cora Carmack.
I was surprised I liked this one so well. I didn’t really care for the first book, I found the main character annoying, and I almost didn’t read this one because Cade’s personality in the first one consisted solely of him being in love with Bliss. In this one we really get to see him and I really liked him, as well as Max and their interactions and chemistry.


6319978 10. Friday Night Bites by Chloe Neill.
Yes, yes, yes. A vampire series. I know many people are tired of them but I really think this one of the better series and definite worth checking out. I found that the vampires are more vicious than many books but they live in modern times and are trying to integrate into society and they want to be accepted.


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The The Broke and Bookish.

2 thoughts on “Social → Top Ten Thursday → 9/26

    • Denise says:

      After I finished Graceling and Fire I was shocked at the amount of people that didn’t like Fire. I loved that it felt more high/epic fantasy and I really wish she had written another book from that part of the world. I read maybe two pages of Bitterblue and then put it aside. Now I want to re-read Fire!

      Like

Leave a Reply

